getTV MARKS BETTE MIDLER’S RETURN TO BROADWAY IN HELLO DOLLY! WITH A NIGHT OF MUSIC FEATURING BETTE MIDLER: OL’ RED HAIR IS BACK WITH DUSTIN HOFFMAN, & HER 1975 APPEARANCE ON CHER, ON MONDAY, APRIL 17 AT 9 P.M. ET/6 P.M. PT

Comment Off 25 Views

getTV MARKS BETTE MIDLER’S RETURN TO BROADWAY IN HELLO DOLLY! WITH A NIGHT OF MUSIC FEATURING BETTE MIDLER: OL’ RED HAIR IS BACK WITH DUSTIN HOFFMAN, & HER 1975 APPEARANCE ON CHER, ON MONDAY, APRIL 17 AT 9 P.M. ET/6 P.M. PT

  

The Block also Salutes HELLO, DOLLY! Legends Pearl Bailey & Carol Channing with the Duo’s 1969 Special, and Channing’s 1965 Appearance on THE MERV GRIFFIN SHOW

 

CULVER CITY, CA  – April 4, 2017 – In honor of Bette Midler’s highly anticipated return to Broadway in the beloved musical HELLO, DOLLY! on April 20, getTV presents an unforgettable night of laughs and music on Monday, April 17, putting the spotlight on Midler’s first television special BETTE MIDLER: OL’ RED HAIR IS BACK, and her 1975 appearance on CHER; and paying tribute to the songstresses whose powerhouse performances helped put HELLO, DOLLY! on the map, with a pair of specials starring Carol Channing and Pearl Bailey.

 

The block opens with Midler’s landmark 1977 special BETTE MIDLER: OL’ RED HAIR IS BACK at 9 p.m. ET/6 p.m. PT. During the hour-long event, the multi-talented singer, dancer, and comedienne shines in a lively evening that finds her blazing through “Oklahoma!,” “La Vie En Rose,” and “Boogie Woogie Bugle Boy,” as well as “In The Mood,” “Shiver Me Timbers;” her signature hit, “Friends,” and “Shoot The Breeze”—accompanied on piano by Dustin Hoffman, with whom she wrote the song. Hoffman also gets a chance to show off his chops as an accomplished pianist, playing a complicated Rachmaninoff piece while Midler attempts to change his wardrobe. The program earned two Primetime EMMY® Awards, including honors for “Outstanding Special.”

 

Next, getTV puts the spotlight on the two women who left an indelible mark on Broadway history with their stunning turns in HELLO, DOLLY!, in the smash hit 1969 special CAROL CHANNING & PEARL BAILEY ON BROADWAY at 10 p.m. ET/7 p.m. PT. Throughout the memorable event, the two Tony® winners team up to take on Broadway standards such as “76 Trombones,” “If I Were A Rich Man,” “There Is Nothing Like A Dame,” and more, before bringing the house down with a rousing duet of “Hello, Dolly!”—the role Channing originated, and Bailey revitalized.

 

Stay tuned as Midler shines in a star-studded 1975 episode of CHER at 11 p.m. ET/8 p.m. PT, with  highlights that include Midler and Cher going toe-to-toe in a “Trashy Ladies” Medley; a charming skit that finds elderly versions of Midler, Cher, Elton John, and Flip Wilson reliving their glory days in a nursing home for the stars; and a rousing finale with Midler, Cher, John, and Wilson performing hits such as “Mockingbird,” “Proud Mary,” and “Ain’t No Mountain High Enough,” among others. Then, Channing is back in action at 12 a.m. ET/9 p.m. PT, stealing the show in an entertaining 1965 interview with Merv Griffin, on THE MERV GRIFFIN SHOW.

 

For a complete schedule, visit www.get.tv/schedule. In addition to airing these episodes airing on the dates noted above, some mentioned are scheduled for further broadcasts throughout the month. (See listings for further details.)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
In : Television

About the author

Editor of Don411.com Media website.
Free Newsletter Updated Daily