Moses Sumney shares new song + album out this Friday

Comment Off 15 Views



Moses Sumney by Eric Gyamfi

LISTEN: “Bless Me”


What the press is saying about græ:

“The album’s music is as ambitious as the man behind it”

“Moses Sumney occupies a space in music all to himself. His music pushes just about any and every aural boundary”

“Sumney’s music is more about what it means to feel, even if you have no idea how to name the force that is overtaking you.”
The New Yorker

Ahead of his album release this Friday, Moses Sumney shares a new song from his double album græ. “Bless Me” is a beautiful final offering from the album, featuring Sumney’s signature vocals soaring through a slowly rising cascade of instrumentals. The track follows previous singles “Cut Me,” “Virile,” “Polly,” and “Conveyor” (which Sumney debuted in the form of a Moog Sound Lab session) and arrives after his COLORS performance of “Cut Me.”

Out this Friday via Jagjaguwar Records, græ is a conceptual patchwork about greyness and expands upon the sonic universe built in Sumney’s critically-acclaimed debut LP Aromanticism and subsequent EP Black In Deep Red, 2014. The album features collaborations with a diverse array of contributors and is Sumney’s first work to be written in his new home of Asheville, North Carolina.

Listen to “Bless Me” and pre-order græ above now and see below for all album details.

About Moses Sumney:
Moses Sumney evades definition as an act of duty: technicolor videos and monochrome clothes; Art Rock and Black Classical; blowing into Fashion Week from a small town in North Carolina; seemingly infinite collaborators, but only one staggering voice. A young life spent betwixt Southern California and Accra, Ghana – not so much rootless as an epyphite, an air plant. The scale is cinematic but the moves are precise deeds of art and stewardship. Sumney’s new, generous double album, græ, is an assertion that the undefinable still exists and dwelling in it is an act of resistance.

There’s probably a biblical analogy to be made about a person who just happens to be named Moses, who flees the binary, splits a massive body into two pieces, and leads us through the in-between – holy and wholly rebellious. By breaking up græ into two multifaceted, dynamic pieces, Sumney is quite literally creating a “grey” in-between space for listeners to absorb and consider the art. Not strictly singles, not strictly albums, never altogether songs or spoken word segments on their own. It’s neither here nor there. “Neither/Nor,” if you will.


“Bless Me” single art


Moses Sumney
February 21, 2020 & May 15, 2020

Part One:
1. Insula
2. Cut Me
3. In Bloom
4. Virile
5. Conveyor
6. boxes
7. Gagarin
8. jill/jack
9. Colouour
10. also also also and and and
11. Neither/Nor
12. Polly

Part Two:
13. Two Dogs
14. Bystanders
15. Me in 20 Years
16. Keeps Me Alive
17. Lucky Me
18. and so I come to isolation
19. Bless Me
20. before you go

Connect with Moses Sumney:
Instagram | Twitter | Facebook | Youtube

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
In : Newswire

About the author

Editor of Media website.
Free Newsletter Updated Daily