Yellow Days announces sophomore album + shares new song & video

Comment Off 14 Views




LISTEN/WATCH: “Love is Everywhere”

PRE-ORDER: A Day in a Yellow Beat

“Yellow Days has a surreal, distant quality to it, paired with incredibly personal and honest lyrics”


“a unique sound that shines”

“George’s sound sits in a sweet spot somewhere in between jazz and R&B”


“It can take a lifetime to master the art of the blues…Yellow Days has nailed it”

Just over two weeks ago Yellow Days shared “Treat You Right,” his first new track in almost a year. This was a precursor to a forthcoming new album set for release via Sony U.K./RCA Records. Now comes the first proper single “Love Is Everywhere” alongside full details of the long-awaited album – A Day in a Yellow Beat out on August 7th.

Picking up swiftly from where “Treat You Right” left off, “Love Is Everywhere” is an enigmatic slice of sophisticated modern soul with the crisp crackles of old-school jazz influence seeping through. The Kevin Lombardo directed video is nostalgic in the most modern and captivating way with George taking centre stage. This element of juxtaposition cuts a line through everything Yellow Days does, be it his creative or the music he makes. A young man with an old soul and the voice to match. His music, fittingly, feels both of his era and completely other: a woozy mixture of soul, blues, psych, and groove leaking through the walls of a jazz lounge that’s come unstuck in time but ultimately, Yellow Days is a project about youth.

A Day in a Yellow Beat is Yellow Days’ sophomore record. George is a self-taught multi-instrumentalist and self-medicated auteur who has never quite fitted into one style or space. As he readies his new album, his sound continues to warp funky, while his words dig deeper into modern malaise and mental health. It is, as he says, “Upbeat existential millennial crisis music.”

On his current musical direction, George explains: “I’m trying to brand my own version of ironic dance music full of depressing truths about feeling distant from your friends, or a sense that nothing is worth anything.” In particular he’s been diving into the ’70s: fusion-era works of Herbie Hancock and Quincy Jones, the funkier phases of Marvin Gaye and Curtis Mayfield, and the keyboard wizardry of Don Blackman and Weldon Irvine. He’s been staying up until 5 a.m. watching Soul Train on YouTube, and testing his falsetto. A Day in a Yellow Beat is a real-time culmination of ideas, however wild they may be.

Having previously released music produced out of his garden shed in Surrey, Yellow Days has spent a lot of time writing and recording this current wave of music in LA with a whole host of incredible artists and musicians – many of whom have / still play for the likes of Raphael Saadiq, Frank Ocean, Weldon Irvine, Kanye West. In doing so, George has taken it back to a more traditional way of making music – from hand-picking the collaborators, selecting the perfect studio setting to recording everything on analogue, vintage gear; all of which has vastly enhanced the sound Yellow Days is now capable of creating. By overseeing the production process, George is more in charge of his own fuzzed-out, technicolor vision than ever. “This is really my first record where I can let it fucking all out,” he says.

Yellow Days remains at its heart, a project about youth. His career trajectory, which began at a very young age, has been a musical outlet for his teenage years and the complexities of transitioning into adulthood. A Day in a Yellow Beat is the culmination of this process to date; a coming of age moment as he commits a wealth of emotions into a vision that projects well beyond his garden shed and onto the global stage. Ever-evolving creatively, George is always thinking of the next steps and where his journey will go, “When I become a bit older, maybe I’m not Yellow Days anymore” At which point, he’ll most likely find himself leading the house band in a quantum disco at the edge of the universe. But until then, A Day in A Yellow Beat is coming, so settle in for the ride.

Listen to and watch “Love is Everywhere” and pre-order A Day in a Yellow Beat above and stay tuned for more from Yellow Days coming soon.

Yellow Days
A Day in a Yellow Beat
Sony U.K./RCA Records
August 7, 2020

1. Intro
2. Be Free
3. Let You Know
4. (The Outsider)
5. Who’s There? (feat. Shirley Jones)
6. Getting Closer
7. Come Groove (Interlude)
8. Keep Yourself Alive
9. Open Your Eyes (feat. Shirley Jones & Nick Walters)
10. ! (feat. Bishop Nehru)
11. (Pot Party)
12. Keeps Me Satisfied
13. You
14. (What Goes Up Must Come Down)
15. The Curse (feat. Mac Demarco)
16. Let’s Be Good To Each Other
17. Whatever You Wanna Do
18. Something Special (Interlude)
19. So Lost
20. I Don’t Mind
21. (Mature Love)
22. Treat You Right
23. Love Is Everywhere

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
In : Newswire

About the author

Editor of Media website.
Free Newsletter Updated Daily