WOLF ALICE NOMINATED FOR 2015’S MERCURY PRIZE; Debut album My Love Is Cool out now on Dirty Hit/RCA Records

Comment Off 57 Views


Debut album My Love Is Cool out now on Dirty Hit/RCA Records



Following the release of their critically acclaimed debut album, My Love Is Cool, which was released via Dirty Hit/RCA Records this past June, Wolf Alice is proud to announce that the album has been selected for the Mercury Prize shortlist.  The Mercury Prize, an annual music prize awarded for the best album from the United Kingdom and Ireland, will be announcing the winner on November  20th.


“Never in Wolf Alice’s wildest dreams did we think we would be shortlisted for an award of any nature, especially something as prestigious as the Mercury Prize,” says the band on hearing the news. “We’re beyond ecstatic and thankful to every person that’s supported us thus far.”


Stunning listeners with their raw sound and fierce attitude, Wolf Alice’s My Love Is Cool has racked up tons of praise since its release.  NPR said, “Wolf Alice is a band (…) whose crunchy, decidedly rock-oriented reinvention is steadfastly unthreatened by a catchy pop melody, a sweet, thoughtful harmony or an earworm bridge and chorus.” Consequence of Sound notes, “Their songs have shades of PJ Harvey’s raw and anthemic take on the blues, but with a bit more polish and a pop attitude behind it.” Also, Wild Honey Pie acclaims, “Wolf Alice is leading the way with their heavy, hooky sounds. They have an attitude, and more importantly, a sound that’s absolutely furious and refreshing.”


Currently, Wolf Alice is finishing up their mostly sold-out fall North American tour in support of My Love Is Cool.  The North American leg is following a sold-out UK tour, which included a hometown show at Brixton Academy and a summer of festival appearances across the globe. “Bros”, the London quartet’s latest single off of the album is now at Alternative Radio.  You can also catch Wolf Alice’s Los Angeles performance on NBC’s Last Call With Carson Daily on October 26th.



My Love is Cool is out now on Dirty Hit Records / RCA Records





Wolf Alice are:

Ellie Rowsell, Joff Oddie, Theo Ellis, Joel Amey




17 – Buzzfest 34, The Woodlands, TX, USA

18 – Trees – Dallas, TX, USA



12 – Grand Mix (Inrocks Festival) – Lille, France

12 – La Cigale (Inrocks Festival) – Paris, France

14 – Stereolux (Inrocks Festival)- Nates, France

16 – Bikini (Inrocks Festival) – Toulouse, France

22 – Taubchenthal Club – Leipzig, Germany

23 – Uebel & Gefaehrich – Hamburg, Germany

24 – Bitterzoet – Amsterdam, Holland [SOLD-OUT]



05 – La Riviera – Madrid, Spain

06 – Razz 2 – Barcelona, Spain

11 – Paradiso – Amsterdam, Holland

14 – Zoom – Frankfurt, Germany

16 – Vega jr – Copenhagen, Denmark

17 – Debaser Strand – Stockholm, Sweden

18 – John Dee – Oslo, Norway

20 – Den Atelier – Luxembourg City, Luxembourg

22 – Tunnel Club – Milan, Italy

23 – Dynamo – Zurich, Switzerland

25 – Hybrydy- Warsaw, Poland

26 – Palac Acropolis – Prague, Czech Republic

28 – Flex – Vienna, Austria

29 – Kellerklub – Stuttgart, Germany


Tickets available now from http://wolfalice.co.uk/live


For more Wolf Alice, follow:

Wolf Alice on Spotify

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
In : Music

About the author

Editor of Don411.com Media website.
Free Newsletter Updated Daily