Third Time, Still Charming: The Irrepressibles Release Forbidden, the Third EP of Daring Nude Trilogy

Comment Off 126 Views
The Irrepressibles
Nude: Forbidden
15 April 2014

Third Time, Still Charming: The Irrepressibles Release Forbidden, the Third EP of Daring Nude Trilogy

Brave new EP from Baroque pop activists features electronica sounds in quest for equality
Watch the video for “Forbidden” 
“The eroticism and magic of the sound is overwhelming. This is dangerous, scintillating music, fluid as mercury.” – The Guardian

(New York, NY) – April 15, 2014

The MuseBox today announced the release of London-based The Irrepressibles’ third and final EP of their Nude trilogy, Nude: Forbidden. Forbidden introduces fans to new electronica tracks and remixes of previously released songs. Featured tracks include the symphonica show tune on depression, “The State of it All,” the darkly retrospective “Forbidden,” and the driving anthem of diversity, “Edge of Now.” Nude: Forbidden is being released in the U.S. and Canada through The MuseBox and EMI. The trilogy is available on The Irrepressibles’ official website. The Independent calls The Irrepressibles’ Nude trilogy “an act of bravery in a cowardly world,” adding that “emotionally bare as it may often be, Nude is swaddled in the most beautiful musical finery.”
The Irrepressibles are the art-pop orchestra created by artist/composer/vocalist Jamie Irrepressible. In October of 2013, they released the first of the Nude trilogy, Nude: Landscapes. The EP ranged from intensely emotional minimalism to symphonic landscapes. The band took to the road across Europe and the U.S., performing intimate sets that featured Jamie’s crooner voice surrounded by piano, acoustic guitar, violin, and cello with loop pedals. On February 14th, The Irrepressibles released the sexually charged Nude: Viscera, the second of the Nude trilogy. “Two Men In Love,” a track from Nude: Viscera, is the music to a groundbreaking political pro-gay love dance videoperformed and edited by dancer Chaz Buzan. By combining elements of new wave, grunge, and exotica, Nude: Viscera earned comparisons to Jeff Buckley, Lou Reed, and PJ Harvey.
Nude:Forbidden contains sophisticated remixes and re-workings of tracks from previous installments in the Nude trilogy, including “New World” by Swedish electronica artist iamamiwhoami, “Forbidden” by Manchester’s own Ghosting Season, and “Arrow” by Lukas. The Irrepressibles are now once again on the road, performing this visceral homo-iconic mini-album with a series of intimate rock club shows.
The Irrepressibles’ 2010 debut album, Mirror Mirror, featured the seminal track “In This Shirt.” Mirror Mirror received international critical acclaim, and is now considered a must-have album in the Baroque pop genre.The Irrepressibles have collaborated with or have been remixed by Royksopp, iamamiwhoami, Hercules, and Love Affair.
The full track listing of Nude: Forbidden is as follows:

1. “Forbidden”
2. “Arrow” (Ghosting Season remix)
3. “New World” (iamamiwhoami remix)
4. “Edge of Now”
5. “Arrow” (Lukas Remix)
6. “Forbidden” (Ghosting Season remix)
7. “The State of It All”

For the latest sounds, visuals, and news from The Irrepressibles, visit


May 19th – Middle East, Boston, MA Tickets
May 20th – Paper Box, NYC, NY Tickets
May 21st – The Hideout, Chicago, IL Tickets
May 23rd – 185 Van Horne, Montreal, QC Tickets
May 26th – Hotel Cafe, Los Angeles, CA Tickets

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

About the author

Free Newsletter Updated Daily