The Chelsea Symphony presents Dvořák’s “New World” Symphony and Three World Premieres on March 10 & 11 at St. Paul’s Church

Comment Off 38 Views

The Chelsea Symphony presents Dvořák’s “New World” Symphony
and Three World Premieres on March 10 & 11 at St. Paul’s Church
(New York, February 23, 2017) — The Chelsea Symphony , recently featured
once again in the latest season of Amazon’s acclaimed TV series Mozart in the Jungle, is proud to
announce the upcoming concerts of its eleventh season, taking place on Friday, March 10 at 8:30 PM
and Saturday, March 11 at 7:30 PM at St. Paul’s German Lutheran Church, 315 West 22 nd Street, New
York NY.
Both concerts will feature Antonín Dvořák’s Symphony No. 9, “From the New World,” the first major
work that the composer wrote during his time in America. The Chelsea Symphony’s 2016-17 season,
“Flight Paths,” showcases music by composers who have visited or immigrated to the United States, and
the orchestra is delighted to present Dvořák’s Symphony in conjunction with the New York
Philharmonic’s New World Initiative .
This concert series will also include premieres of three vibrant new works. Both upcoming performances
will open with Summer Mountains by Danny Gray, the winner of The Chelsea Symphony’s Third Annual
Composition Competition. The piece draws inspiration from an eponymous 11 th -century Chinese painting
housed at the Metropolitan Museum of Art. Gray describes the work as “a sort of ‘landscape composition’
that imagines the traveler’s experiences in the wilderness, while drawing upon my own sense of
intimidation and wonder when traveling through mountains.”
The March 10 performance will feature Sarah Haines in the world premiere of the Concerto for Viola and
Orchestra by Michael Boyman, a BMI Young Composers Award laureate and the inaugural winner of
The Chelsea Symphony’s Composition Competition. The Concerto plays with the idea of unity in
diversity and traverses a wide range of textures and emotions, from sensuality to violence to urgent
The March 11 concert includes two tangos by Astor Piazzolla arranged for viola and orchestra with
featured soloist G izem Yucel. Le Grand Tango (arranged by David Johnstone) captures the spirit of nuevo
tango by fusing traditional tango rhythms with jaz zy syncopations. Adiós Nonino (in a new arrangement
by Antonio Truyols) was written in less than an hour in response to the passing of Piazzolla’s father.
The Chelsea Symphony is also delighted to welcome Miguel Campos Neto as guest conductor for this
series. Campos Neto, one of the founding Artistic Directors of The Chelsea Symphony, is currently the
director of the Orquestra Sinfônica do Teatro da Paz in Belém, Brazil.
Concert Information:
Press tickets: contact [email protected]
Contact: Emily Wong – [email protected] (718.269.9851)
Danny Gray: Summer Mountains (World Premiere; winner of the TCS 2016-17 Composition
Michael Boyman: Concerto for Viola and Orchestra (Sarah Haines, viola; 3/11 only) (World Premiere)
Astor Piazzolla: Adiós Nonino (arr. Antonio Truyols; premiere) and Le Grand Tango (arr. David
Johnstone) (Gizem Yucel, viola; 3/12 only)
Antonín Dvořák: Symphony No. 9 in E Minor, “From the New World”
Miguel Campos Neto, conductor
About The Chelsea Symphony
The Chelsea Symphony, hailed as an “enterprising group of young m usicians” by Time Out, upends the
traditional hierarchy of the classical orchestra: members rotate as featured soloists, conductors, and
composers. The self-governing ensemble aims to be a cultural focus for Manhattan’s Chelsea
neighborhood and to present vibrant concerts of inspiring symphonic music both old and new. In recent
years, The Chelsea Symphony has expanded its reach with performances at Lincoln Center, Merkin
Concert Hall, The DiMenna Center for Classical Music, Symphony Space, Bargemusic, the United Palace
Theatre, and New York Fashion Week. In December 2014, The Chelsea Symphony performed at Alice
Tully Hall for the premiere of the Go lden Globe winning Amazon Original Series Mozart in the Jungle.
Musicians from the orchestra can also be seen in the critically acclaimed series: seasons 1–3 are now
available on
# # #

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

About the author

Editor of Media website.
Free Newsletter Updated Daily