Texas Rangers Announce 2015 Regular Season Schedule

Comment Off 70 Views


Rangers will host Diamondbacks, Dodgers, Giants, and Padres in interleague play

Arlington, Texas – The Texas Rangers will host the Houston Astros in the club’s 2015 home opener on Friday, April 10. The team begins regular season play with a four-game series in Oakland that starts on Monday, April 6. The complete 2015 schedule was announced today by Major League Baseball.

This will mark the 20th time in 44 seasons that the Rangers have opened on the road, just the second in the last seven years. It will be the fourth occasion on which the Rangers have opened with the A’s, 1974 in Arlington and 2002 and 2004 at Oakland.

Following the four games in Oakland, the Rangers begin their 2015 Globe Life Park in Arlington schedule with a six-game homestand that features three contests each with the Astros (April 10-13) and Los Angeles Angels (April 13-15). This will be the first time Houston, which joined the American League in 2013, has provided the opposition in a Rangers home opener. April 10 will be the team’s latest home opener since 2005 (April 11).

With 15 teams in each league, interleague play will take place throughout the entire regular season for the third straight year. Clubs will again play 19 games against division opponents (76 total games) and either six or seven contests vs. non-divisional league opponents in home and home series (66 total games). Each club will also play 20 interleague games (10 home/10 road), with the Rangers meeting the five N.L. West clubs in 2015.

Texas will play 19 times each versus A.L. West Division foes Houston, Los Angeles, Oakland, and Seattle. In interleague play, the Rangers will have home and home series with three of the five N.L. West teams: two-game series with both the Arizona Diamondbacks and Los Angeles Dodgers and a pair of three-game series with the San Diego Padres. Texas rounds out its interleague schedule by hosting the San Francisco Giants for three games and traveling to Colorado for a three-game series.

The 2015 home schedule also features four-game series with the Boston Red Sox, Kansas City Royals, and New York Yankees. The Rangers will host the Angels on Independence Day, Saturday, July 4. The club also plays its final seven games of the regular season at Globe Life Park in Arlington, hosting the Detroit Tigers for three games and the Angels for four contests, September 28-October 4.

Game times for the 2015 schedule will be announced at a later date. The complete schedule is attached.


                                                Home               Road                                                    Home               Road

Baltimore Orioles                       3                      4                      Oakland A’s                  9                      10

Boston Red Sox                       4                      3                      Seattle Mariners            9                      10

Chicago White Sox                    3                      3                      Tampa Bay Rays           3                      4

Cleveland Indians                      3                      3                      Toronto Blue Jays         3                      3

Detroit Tigers                            3                      4                      Arizona Diamondbacks  2                      2

Houston Astros                         10                     9                      Colorado Rockies         0                      3

Kansas City Royals                   4                      3                      Los Angeles Dodgers    2                      2

Los Angeles Angels                  10                     9                      San Diego Padres         3                      3

Minnesota Twins                        3                      3                      San Francisco Giants    3                      0

New York Yankees                    4                      3




Print Friendly, PDF & Email
In : Sports

About the author

Free Newsletter Updated Daily