Comment Off 24 Views




Inductees:  Elvis Costello, Marvin Gaye*, Tom Petty, Nile Rodgers & Bernard Edwards* and Chip Taylor


Special Award Recipients: Lionel Richie, Nick Jonas and Seymour Stein


Presenters/Performers: The B-52s, James Corden, Kenneth Gamble & Leon Huff, Jennifer Hudson, Roger McGuinn, Marcus Mumford, Rachel Platten, Sister Sledge, Jussie Smolett and Jon Voight


JUNE 10, 2015 – NEW YORK – The 2016 Songwriters Hall of Fame 47th Annual Induction and Awards Dinner was a sparkling success, as SHOF President/CEO Linda Moran and co-chairs, Kenneth Gamble and Leon Huff recognized and celebrated some of the best songwriting legends of our time. Last night, icons Elvis Costello, Marvin Gaye*, Tom Petty, Nile Rodgers & Bernard Edwards* and Chip Taylor were inducted into the Songwriters Hall of Fame. Honored with special awards were Lionel Richie with the prestigious Johnny Mercer Award; Nick Jonas with the Hal David Starlight Award and Seymour Stein with the Howie Richmond Hitmaker Award.


The Songwriters Hall of Fame induction and awards dinner, year after year, is a night full of unforgettable moments celebrating the art of songwriting.  The evening kicked off with Marcus Mumford delivering a rocking performance of Elvis Costello’s “Pump It Up” before inducting the legendary songwriter, whom he called his “hero.”


Jussie Smolett took to the stage for a soulful rendition of “What’s Going On” before inducting Marvin Gaye posthumously.  Marvin’s wife, Jan, accepted the honor on her late husband’s behalf, saying “Marvin was so special. Marvin is with us, he’s not going anywhere. We might not be able to see him in the flesh, but his spirit is so strong, and as Jussie said, his messages whether they be social, political, sexual are still relevant today.”


Rachel Platten performed inductee Chip Taylor’s hit “Angel Of The Morning” before Chip’s brother, actor, Jon Voight took the stage to welcome him into the Hall of Fame.  Following his induction, Chip was joined on stage by his three granddaughters for a family performance of “Wild Thing” that had the audience singing along.


The B-52s gave a timeless performance of their hit “Love Shack” before welcoming Seymour Stein to the stage to accept the Howie Richmond Hitmaker Award, which is specifically tailored for an artist or “star maker” in the music industry who has been responsible for a substantial number of hit songs for an extended period, and most importantly, recognizes the genuine significance of the song and songwriter. Seymour told stories that had the room laughing.


The celebratory evening continued as late night host, James Corden presented pal, Nick Jonas with the Hal David Starlight Award. Each year, this award is presented to young songwriters who are making a significant impact in the music industry with their original songs. Nick then gave an energized performance of his smash hit “Jealous,” which had the audience clapping along.


Co-Chairs Gamble and Huff returned to the stage to welcome Jennifer Hudson who helped to honor Johnny Mercer Award recipient Lionel Richie with a flawless performance of “Still” before bringing him to the stage to present him with the highest honor bestowed by the Songwriters Hall of Fame.  Humbled, Lionel Richie called it the “Best night of my life as a songwriter,” before sitting at the piano to play his hit, “Hello.”


Tom Petty was inducted into the Songwriters Hall of Fame by Roger McGuinn who performed Tom’s hit “American Girl” before Tom hit the stage performing, his new song “Forgive It All” and “Angel Dream.”


The evening came to a close with Nile Rodgers and Bernard Edwards’ induction.  Sister Sledge welcomed Nile and Bernard’s two sons, Bernard (“Focus”) Edwards Jr. and David Edwards to the stage and Nile recounted old tales of the duo, saying that they were “polar opposites but when they played music they were one.”  Nile glowed with gratitude, holding his award high saying, “This is the one that means everything to me.” He performed “Le Freak” while the crowd danced along then Sister Sledge returned to the stage and had the audience on their feet with the hit “We Are Family.”


About The Songwriters Hall of Fame:

The Songwriters Hall of Fame celebrates songwriters, educates the public with regard to their achievements, and produces a spectrum of professional programs devoted to the development of new songwriting talent through workshops, showcases and scholarships.  Out of the tens of thousands of songwriters of our era, there are approximately 400 inductees who make up the impressive roster enshrined in the Hall of Fame.  The list includes Kenneth Gamble & Leon Huff, Barry Mann & Cynthia Weil, Jerry Leiber & Mike Stoller, Eddie Holland, Lamont Dozier & Brian Holland, Smokey Robinson, Albert Hammond, Desmond Child, Paul Williams, Hal David & Burt Bacharach, John Fogerty, Bob Dylan, Isaac Hayes & David Porter, Richard & Robert Sherman, Carole King, Gerry Goffin, Paul Simon, Billy Joel, Jon Bon Jovi & Richie Sambora, Elton John & Bernie Taupin, Brian Wilson, James Taylor, Don Schlitz, Bruce Springsteen, Phil Collins, Alan & Marilyn Bergman, Loretta Lynn, Jimmy Webb, Van Morrison, Kris Kristofferson, Dolly Parton, Diane Warren, Paul Anka, Stevie Wonder, Bob Seger, Steven Tyler & Joe Perry, Leonard Cohen, Ray Davies, Donovan, Cyndi Lauper and Mick Jones & Lou Gramm, among many others.

Full biographies and a complete list of inductees are available at the Songwriters Hall of Fame’s Virtual Museum at  Joining online is quick and easy:


Ticket Information:

Tickets for the Songwriters Hall of Fame event begin at $1,250 each, and are available through Buckley Hall Events, 914-579-1000. Net proceeds from the event will go toward the Songwriters Hall of Fame programs.  Songwriters Hall of Fame is a 501(c)3 organization.  The non-deductible portion of each ticket is $170. Contributions, for which no goods or services are received in exchange, are fully tax-deductible as provided by law.


Print Friendly, PDF & Email

About the author

Editor of Media website.
Free Newsletter Updated Daily