Comment Off 35 Views



“I’ve come to think that the universe is a four-dimensional site in which nothing is changing and nothing is moving. The only thing that is moving along the time axis is our consciousness. The past is still there, the future has always been here. Every moment that has existed or will ever exist is all part of this giant hyper-moment of space time.”
– Alan Moore, June 2011
This quote by British novelist, Alan Moore, was running through electronic musician ROBOT KOCH’s head as he relocated to Los Angeles from Berlin. After spending the last 15 years in the German capital, and being spurred on by seismic shifts in both his private and working life, being in a different place, culture, and society brought on the thought that while our conscious mind moves along, the past, present and future all co-exist. This formed the basis, concept and, idea behind his new album HYPERMOMENT. Due out November 6 on Monkeytown Records, it his first new album in four years.  It’s also his first on Modeselektor’s hallowed Monkeytown imprint and the follow-up to his EP Tsuki.
HYPERMOMENT, while retaining ROBOT’S much loved hallmarks, is a true evolution of his sound and style. Driving deeper into more intimate territory with swathes of warm, saturated, analog sounds, real world field recording, and lush pianosand soundscapes, this is the first of any of ROBOT’S works to feature his own voice (as can be heard on “Care,” “Serenade” and “Fernwood“). The field recordings were captured along ROBOT’S nomadic writing trips to New York, Berlin and the inspiring Joshua Tree in California, as well as his new home base of Silver Lake in Los Angeles, where he was constantly writing and re-writing the tracks to fit in with the basis and ethos of the album.
The album features some familiar faces from ROBOT’S world. LA-based schwarzmodul, who was on his previous Tsuki EP, makes an appearance, as well as Delhia de France from his recent “California Dreamin’” collaboration which was used on the trailer for Warner Bros’ summer blockbuster San Andreas (de France is also from the band the Pentatones, who ROBOT produced the album Ouroboros for in 2014). ROBOT has also brought on some of his favorite new emerging artists such as the UK’s Fassine (“Spine“) and Mree from NYC (“Separated“), as well as California-based Stephen Henderson (“Dreams“).
While being ROBOT’S most rounded work, HYPERMOMENT is also his most personal to date, dealing with heartbreak, culture clashes, and transitions, optimizing Alan Moore’s quote which so heavily informed it. While the past is there to be learned from, and the future will always be with us, our consciousness will continue to move forward.
  1. Circles feat. Curtain Blue & Delhia de France
  2. Dreams feat. Stephen Henderson
  3. Kalimba feat. Malte Beckenbach
  4. Serenade
  5. Eclipse feat. Julien Marchal
  6. Spine feat. Fassine
  7. Seperated feat. Mree
  8. Fernwood
  9. Dark Waves feat. Delhia de France
  10. Night Drive feat. schwarzmodul
  11. Care feat. Julien Marchal
# # #
Print Friendly, PDF & Email
In : Music

About the author

Editor of Media website.
Free Newsletter Updated Daily