Princess Grace Foundation-USA to present Tim Daly with the Prince Rainier III Award 2018 Gala Held in the Presence of HSH Princess Charlene of Monaco

Comment Off 31 Views

Princess Grace Foundation-USA to present
Tim Daly with the Prince Rainier III Award

2018 Gala Held in the Presence of
HSH Princess Charlene of Monaco

Hosted by Bebe Neuwirth
Featuring Tyne Daly, Katharine McPhee
and Leslie Odom Jr. as Presenters,

Plus Special Performances by Emma Duncan,
Carly Hughes and Marcella Lewis

Princess Grace Awards Gala will take place on
October 16th at Cipriani 25 Broadway 

NEW YORK, NY – (October 9, 2018) The Princess Grace Foundation-USA (PGF-USA) is proud to announce that award-winning actor, director, producer, and philanthropist Tim Daly will accept the distinguished Prince Rainier III Award for his outstanding artistry and exemplary give-back. Daly will be honored at the Princess Grace Awards Gala at Cipriani 25 Broadway in New York on October 16, 2018.

It was also announced that the Awards Gala will be hosted by Emmy and Tony Award-winning actress Bebe Neuwirth, and will feature Emmy and Tony Award-winning actress Tyne Daly, singer-actress Katharine McPhee and Tony Award-winning actor Leslie Odom Jr. (2016 Princess Grace Statue Award Recipient) as presenters. Additionally, the evening will include a special musical performances by Chicago Med actress Emma Duncan (2014 Princess Grace Award Winner), American Housewife actress Carly Hughes (2003 Princess Grace Award Winner), and dance performance by A.I.M (Abraham.In.Motion) dancer Marcella Lewis (2018 Princess Grace Award Winner).
The 2018 Princess Grace Awards Gala continues the legacy of Princess Grace (Kelly) of Monaco, who helped emerging artists pursue their artistic goals during Her lifetime. In total, the Foundation is awarding over $1 million to artists in theater, dance, and film annually. In the presence of Her Serene Highness The Princess of Monaco, the evening is co-chaired by Dennis and Phyllis Washington and Anne Sweeney and Phillip Miller. Major Gala supporters include Rod & Karen Gancas and Dennis & Phyllis Washington as Crown Sponsors.

The Prince Rainier III Award recognizes a renowned leader in the arts whose own accomplishments are coupled with demonstrated service to their community.  Past recipients of the Award include Julie Andrews, Mikhail Baryshnikov, James Cameron, Glenn Close, Queen Latifah, George Lucas, Mandy Patinkin, Sibylle & Robert Redford, Twyla Tharp, Pauletta & Denzel Washington, Cicely Tyson, and Dick Van Dyke. The Prince Rainier III Award includes a grant of $25,000 to the philanthropic organization of the recipient’s choice and a uniquely designed sculpture by artist Alex Soldier.  Soldier designed a stunning work of art incorporating symbols representing all three disciplines lauded by the Foundation: theater, dance, and film.

Her Serene Highness Princess Charlene of Monaco said, “It is a privilege to preside over this year’s Princess Grace Awards Gala and participate in a celebration supporting the great work of inspiring artists in theater, dance and film.  It is my distinct honor to present Tim Daly with the Prince Rainier lll Award.  In addition to his impressive work as an actor on both stage and screen, I applaud his devotion to supporting the arts by way of his decade long commitment as the President of The Creative Coalition, a group that educates leaders in the arts community on issues of public importance, specifically arts advocacy and education.”

Toby E. Boshak, Executive Director of the Princess Grace Foundation-USA shared, “Recognizing Tim Daly with the 2018 Prince Rainier III Award reinforces the Foundation’s commitment to celebrating noted artists who use their own celebrity to make an impact on their community. Tim’s leadership of The Creative Coalition ensures that the arts continue to be part of all our lives and that artists are empowered to have their voices heard.”

As previously announced, the evening will also honor Sam Gold, Tony Award-winning director for Fun Home and Kyle Abraham, MacArthur Genius Fellowship Award winner and founder of the dance company A.I.M (Abraham.In.Motion) with 2018 Princess Grace Statue Awards for their continuing excellence in their chosen disciplines.

Tim Daly is an Emmy nominated actor, director, producer, and philanthropist. He currently stars as Henry McCord in “Madam Secretary” on CBS. This fall, he will appear alongside his sister, Tyne Daly, in Primary Stages’s production of Theresa Rebeck’s “Downstairs.” Behind the camera, Daly produced and starred in “Edge of America,” which won both the Humanitias Prize and Peabody Award. Additionally, Daly is the president of The Creative Coalition (, a non-profit, social and political advocacy organization that promotes First Amendment rights, arts advocacy, and public education. In partnership with the Coalition, Daly produced the PSA “Watch What You Watch,” a campaign focused on promoting healthy media images for youth, which received a Gracie Award.

The Princess Grace Foundation-USA is a non-profit, publicly-supported foundation, headquartered in New York City and founded 36 years ago by Prince Rainier III of Monaco to honor his wife, Princess Grace’s [Kelly] legacy. The Foundation’s mission is to identify and assist emerging talent in theater, dance, and film by awarding grants in the form of scholarships, apprenticeships, and fellowships. Since its inception the Foundation has given awards to nearly 800 recipients. Some notable Princess Grace Award recipients in Film include: Emmy winner Cary Fukunaga will direct the next James Bond film, directed Netflix’s Maniac, HBO’s “True Detective”,  and Jane Eyre; Greg Mottola director of Superbad, “Arrested Development”, and Amazon’s The Dangerous Book for Boys; Stephen Hillenburg, creator of SpongeBob SquarePants. Theater recipients include: Tony Award winner for Best Direction of a Play, Anna D. Shapiro; Pulitzer and Tony Award winning playwright Tony Kushner; Golden Globe Award winner Oscar Isaac; and Tony Award winning actor Leslie Odom Jr. Dance/Choreography recipients include: Alvin Ailey American Dance Theater Artistic Director Robert Battle; American Ballet Theatre’s Gillian Murphy and Isabella Boylston and New York City Ballet’s Tiler Peck; as well as choreographers Camille A. Brown and Michelle Dorrance.

The Princess Grace Awards Ceremony is produced by Scott Mauro Entertainment, Inc/ Scott H. Mauro, Executive Producer for the 12th year.

For more information about the Princess Grace Awards program, please visit

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

About the author

Editor of Media website.
Free Newsletter Updated Daily