Oil Boom Announces New Album Terribility Set To Release On October 20, 2017

Comment Off 37 Views
Oil Boom
Announces New Album Terribility
Set To Release On October 20, 2017
“If you like the grittiness of The Black Keys, Jon Spencer Blues Explosion, Hanni El Khatib 
and good, loud garage-rock guitar in general, Oil Boom is for you.”
– NPR’s Heavy Rotation
Dallas/Fort Worth, TX – September 6, 2017 – Oil Boom is set to release their new full-length album Terribility on October 20th via Dreamy Life Records. Produced by Grammy Award-winning producer Jordan Richardson (Ben Harper, Charlie Musselwhite, Quaker City Night Hawks), Terribility is a 10-song LP of psych-leaning, wisecracking rock ‘n roll. For more information, please visit: https://www.facebook.com/OilBoom.
Ever hear one of those canonical classic rock guitar solos and thought, “I wonder if that riff made the engineer laugh a little?” The dudes in Oil Boom crack up over that stuff all the time, and then they turn those jokes about Joe Perry hot lixx and Robert Plant blues-ball moans into songs. It’s classic rock deconstruction in the vein of Ween, or at least Weezer. Or, put another way: Oil Boom makes rock ‘n roll inspired by the all-time greats, but instead of worshipping at the church of St. Mick and St. Keef, they sleep in on Sunday (especially if they stayed up late listening to Sabbath).
Oil Boom is: Ryan Taylor (guitar/vocals), Steve Steward (bass/background vocals), Dugan Connors (drums/background vocals), Zach Edwards (guitar). The band’s 6-song debut EP Black Waxy was recorded in 2011 with Stuart Sikes (Loretta Lynn, The Walkmen), and quickly followed by Gold Yeller, their second color-themed, 6-song EP in 2012. Its lead single, “The Great American Shakedown” was added to the rotation of NPR stations and appeared on the soundtracks to The Vampire Diaries, If I Stay, Freeheld and Grandma. The band spent a couple years playing around Texas and the Midwest while working on songs for their next release, recording a full-length in 2014 called Red Metal. The album continued their streak of colorful titles and soundtrack success, with “45 Revolutions Per Minute”, “Delta Rice” and “Ball O’ Fire” placed in films/TV shows such as Manchester By The Sea, Rectify, Lucifer, and Elementary.
Since Red Metal‘s release, Oil Boom has spent the intervening years on the road with heavyweights like Social Distortion and the Toadies,and at home opening for Johnny Marr and The Hold Steady. Their highly anticipated upcoming full-length album Terribility is set to releaseonOctober 20, 2017. For more information, please visit: https://www.facebook.com/OilBoom.
Check out more on Oil Boom, here:

Terribility Tracklisting:
01. Earful
02. Last Call For Milkshakes!
03. Angelo No. 9
04. Pro Tools
05. Nosedive 10-85
06. Yung Bullion
07. By Degrees
08. Horseclothes
09. Terribility
10. Tangiers
Upcoming Shows:
Sep 16 – Graham, TX @ Possum Hollow (Dia De Los Toadies 10)
Oct 13 – Dallas, TX @ Granada Theater (Album Release Show)
Big Picture Media
Print Friendly, PDF & Email
In : Music

About the author

Editor of Don411.com Media website.
Free Newsletter Updated Daily