Comment Off 333 Views




Norah Jones Ronnie Scotts DVD HR

New York, NY (May 11, 2018)—Norah Jones first emerged on the world stage with the 2002 release of Come Away With Me, her self-described “moody little record” that introduced a singular new voice and grew into a global phenomenon, sweeping the 2003 GRAMMY Awards and signalling a paradigm shift away from the prevailing pop music of the time. Since then, Jones has sold nearly 50 million albums worldwide and become a 9-time GRAMMY-winner. She has released a series of critically acclaimed and commercially successful solo albums, as well as albums with her collective bands The Little Willies and Puss N Boots. Her music weaves a rich tapestry that combines the threads of several bedrock styles of American music: country, folk, rock, soul and jazz, frequently transcending genres. Jones has collaborated with artists as diverse as Willie Nelson, Outkast, Herbie Hancock, Foo Fighters, and Danger Mouse, and been described as “pop music’s mistress of alchemy…” (The Independent).

Now with the DVD/Blu-ray release Live at Ronnie Scott’s, out June 15, and available for pre-order now, Jones delights her fans with an intimate trio show with drummer Brian Blade and bassist Christopher Thomas in the iconic surroundings of the famed London jazz club Ronnie Scott’s. Watch the performance of the Day Breaks song, “And Then There Was You” here.

Impressive in its stripped-back, under-stated elegance, the show witnesses Jones’ hypnotic reconnection with the piano. Returning to her jazz roots with much material from her most recent album, Day Breaks she opens with a searing rendition of “Sleeping Wild” and a set list including “After the Fall” and “Flipside”, alongside a beautiful version of Duke Ellington’s “Fleurette Africaine (African Flower)”. Closing with her Grammy Award winning, internationally acclaimed hit, “Don’t Know Why” and “I’ve Got To See You Again”, the soulfully burning embers of these songs remain long after Jones has left the stage.

Day Breaks was met with universal acclaim upon its 2016 release. Rolling Stone awarded the album 4-stars calling it “a marvellous consolidation, floating buoyantly between past tradition and her own unique present.” Another 4-star review in MOJO declared it “her masterpiece to date… small-hours jazz perfection… inspired and breathtaking.”

Jones’ subsequent world tour was met with similar raves with the Boston Globe declaring “Norah Jones has a way of being there when you need her… a warm, honeyed voice, right up against your ear, AutoTune-free and honest.” Philadelphia Inquirer wrote “She put on a self-assured show that drew from all aspects of her career while finding focus seated at the piano in her sultry, smoky-voiced comfort zone.” Los Angeles Daily News raved that “Jones has become a more relaxed and mature performer… she is masterful at never overplaying… Norah Jones keeps getting better with age.”

Live at Ronnie Scott’s track listing:

1. Sleeping Wild
2. Don’t Be Denied
3. After The Fall
4. Sinkin’ Soon
5. Out On The Road
6. And Then There Was You
7. It’s A Wonderful Time For Love
8. Fleurette Africaine (African Flower)
9. Flipside
10. Day Breaks
11. Nightingale
12. Tragedy
13. Little Broken Hearts
14. Carry On
15. Don’t Know Why
16. I’ve Got To See You Again

Bonus features on DVD & Blu-Ray include in-depth pre-show interview and bonus track, “Burn”.

# # #

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
In : Music

About the author

Editor of Media website.
Free Newsletter Updated Daily