Nick Jonas will be the recipient of the eminent Hal David Starlight Award, to be presented at the 47th Annual Induction and Awards Dinner slated for Thursday, June 9th at the Marriott Marquis Hotel in New York City

Comment Off 24 Views




Previously Announced Inductees Include:

Elvis Costello, Marvin Gaye*, Tom Petty, Nile Rodgers & Bernard Edwards* and Chip Taylor


New York, NY – April 18, 2016 – Nick Jonas will be the recipient of the eminent Hal David Starlight Award, to be presented at the 47th Annual Induction and Awards Dinner slated for Thursday, June 9th at the Marriott Marquis Hotel in  New York City.


The Hal David Starlight Award, created in 2004, was named in honor of SHOF Chairman Emeritus Hal David, for his longtime support of young songwriters.  Award recipients are gifted young songwriters who are making a significant impact in the music industry via their original songs.  Nick joins the distinguished company of Nate Ruess, Imagine Dragons’ Dan Reynolds, Taylor Swift, John Legend, Alicia Keys, Ne-Yo, Drake, Benny Blanco, Jason Mraz, John Mayer, Rob Thomas and John Rzeznik.


“Nick Jonas is one of the brightest and most versatile young talents on the American Pop scene,” said SHOF Co-Chairs Kenneth Gamble and Leon Huff. “A veteran of recording, television, movies and Broadway success at the age of 23, he has been making his cultural mark in a variety of ways for more than a decade. Nick has literally grown up in public and that growth is reflected in his songwriting and singing. He is a wonderful choice for the Songwriters Hall of Fame’s Hal David Starlight Award.”


Nick Jonas launched his solo music career with a self-titled debut album, Nick Jonas, released in November 2014. The critically-acclaimed album included the triple-platinum smash single and #1 U.S. radio hit, “Jealous”, which he co-wrote, the double platinum single, “Chains” and the hit single “Levels”. In 2015, in partnership with Island Records, Demi Lovato, and long-time manager Phil McIntyre, he launched the artist-centric record label, Safehouse Records.


Jonas was the driving songwriting force behind the Jonas Brothers, and was a co- writer or sole writer on the majority of their releases. In addition, he helped pen a number of songs on Demi Lovato’s first album which brought her to prominence under Hollywood Records.


Jonas began his acting career on Broadway with roles in Les Miserables, Beauty and the Beast, Annie Get Your Gun, and A Christmas Carol. Since then Jonas has had lead roles in London’s West End production of Les Miserables, Broadway’s How to Succeed at Business Without Really Trying, and LA’s Hairspray. He has also appeared on the hit shows Mr. Sunshine, Last Man Standing, and Smash; as well as the 2014 feature film Careful What You Wish For, directed by Elizabeth Allen Rosenbaum.


In 2015, Jonas wrapped Season 3 of the gritty, critically-acclaimed television show Kingdom, and can be seen later this year in the James Franco produced film, Goat, which premiered at the 2016 Sundance Film Festival. Goat was honored in the “Panorama Dokumente” category at The Berlin Film Festival and will be released this Fall.


In March 2016, Jonas announced that his upcoming album, Last Year Was Complicated, will be released on June 10th. The first single off the album, “Close” featuring Tove Lo, was released in March. His co-writing credits on the album include “Chainsaw,” “Unhinged,” “TheDifference,” “Champagne Problems,” and “Bacon.”


He is set to kick off his 40-city North American FUTURE NOW: THE TOUR with Demi Lovato on June 24th in Sunrise, FL.


Inductees at this year’s event include Elvis Costello, Marvin Gaye*, Tom Petty, Nile Rodgers & Bernard Edwards* and Chip TaylorSeymour Stein will receive the Howie Richmond Hitmaker Award.  Lionel Richie will be honored with the Johnny Mercer Award.


*Marvin Gaye and Bernard Edwards will be inducted posthumously


About The Songwriters Hall of Fame:

The Songwriters Hall of Fame celebrates songwriters, educates the public with regard to their achievements, and produces a spectrum of professional programs devoted to the development of new songwriting talent through workshops, showcases and scholarships.  Out of the tens of thousands of songwriters of our era, there are approximately 400 inductees who make up the impressive roster enshrined in the Hall of Fame.  The list includes Kenneth Gamble & Leon Huff, Barry Mann & Cynthia Weil, Jerry Leiber & Mike Stoller, Eddie Holland, Lamont Dozier & Brian Holland, Smokey Robinson, Albert Hammond, Desmond Child, Paul Williams, Hal David & Burt Bacharach, John Fogerty, Bob Dylan, Isaac Hayes & David Porter, Richard & Robert Sherman, Carole King, Gerry Goffin, Paul Simon, Billy Joel, Jon Bon Jovi & Richie Sambora, Elton John & Bernie Taupin, Brian Wilson, James Taylor, Don Schlitz, Bruce Springsteen, Phil Collins, Alan & Marilyn Bergman, Loretta Lynn, Jimmy Webb, Van Morrison, Kris Kristofferson, Dolly Parton, Diane Warren, Paul Anka, Stevie Wonder, Bob Seger, Steven Tyler & Joe Perry, Leonard Cohen, Ray Davies, Donovan, Cyndi Lauper and Mick Jones & Lou Gramm, among many others.

Full biographies and a complete list of inductees are available at the Songwriters Hall of Fame’s Virtual Museum at  Joining online is quick and easy:


Ticket Information:

Tickets for the Songwriters Hall of Fame event begin at $1,250 each, and are available through Buckley Hall Events, 914-579-1000. Net proceeds from the event will go toward the Songwriters Hall of Fame programs.  Songwriters Hall of Fame is a 501(c)3 organization.  The non-deductible portion of each ticket is $170. Contributions, for which no goods or services are received in exchange, are fully tax-deductible as provided by law.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
In : Music

About the author

Editor of Media website.
The Search for a Live Kidney Donor
Free Newsletter Updated Daily