NAO’s debut album For All We Know will be released on July 29th via Little Tokyo Recordings/RCA Records and is set to be one of the defining records of 2016

Comment Off 34 Views





“The Future Sound of RnB” – The Guardian

“…a spacey, smoldering update on ’90s R&B, and a voice that’s high and fluttery and commanding…” Pitchfork

“…an arresting voice and an ear for weird flourishes…” – Fader

“…different from other music out there – it’s cool and dark.” – Entertainment Weekly

“NAO is one of those artists that is pushing forth an exciting new era of R&B and soul.” Buzzfeed


[New York, NY – July 18, 2016] NAO’s debut album For All We Know will be released on July 29th via Little Tokyo Recordings/RCA Records and is set to be one of the defining records of 2016.

Her emergence as one of the most adored new singers of the year has been as fluid and elegant as one of her vocal phrases. Now she has delivered her highly anticipated debut For All We Know, a transcendent set of 18 songs. Woozy, spacey funk, shot through with her effortless breath-taking toplines, part neo-soul, part UK bass, part funk rock – all at a sensual, stepping R&B pace.

The record features fan favorites “Girlfriend,” “Inhale Exhale,” “Bad Blood” and “Fool To Love” as well as incredible unheard tracks like “Trophy” – where NAO collaborates with A.K. Paul again – and “Get To Know Ya” co-produced by XL Recordings’ Jungle. Other co-producers (NAO is credited as producer on 17 of the 18 tracks) include her good friends John Calvert (“In The Morning,” “Blue Wine,” “We Don’t Give A”), GRADES (“Bad Blood,” “Fool To Love,” “Inhale Exhale,” “Girlfriend”) and LOXE (“Adore You,” “Give Me A Little”).

NAO grew up in South Woodford, East London, listening to gospel in her local Evangelical church, her brother’s jungle UK garage and her sister’s 90s and 00s R&B – going on to study at the prestigious Guildhall School of Music and Drama. She starting writing songs in her mid-twenties after a few years of teaching school kids to sing and doing backing vocal gigs for the likes of Pulp and Kwabs.

Inspired by Little Dragon, the ideas and words flowed, and she soon began working on her own songs, resulting in her 2014 debut EP, So Good.  The EP’s title track, made with A.K. Paul, whizzed around the world accumulating millions of plays on Soundcloud. NAO’s 2015 follow-up EP, February 15, contained the single “Zillionaire” which was featured in a Samsung Galaxy commercial.  By January 2016 she placed third in the high-profile BBC Sound Poll and her incredible year continues with a recent performance on Later…with Jools Holland, the cover of The Guardian and rave reviews from Fader, Essence, Pitchfork, Entertainment Weekly, and more.

For All We Know is the record of a one-of-a-kind artist destined for greatness. A record you can dip your head into for a 360-degree spectrum of kaleidoscopic digi-funk.


NAO For All We Know album track listing:

01        Intro (Like Velvet)

02        Get to Know Ya ** 

03        Inhale Exhale    ****

04        Voice Memo 161

05        Happy  ^^^^

06        Voice Memo 162

07        Adore You (feat. Abhi Dijon)   ^^^

08        In The Morning  ***

09        Trophy (feat. A. K. Paul) *  

10        Bad Blood  ****

11        DYWM

12        We Don’t Give A  ***

13        Give Me A Little

14        Fool to Love

15        Voice Memo 4 (Say Yes)

16        Blue Wine    ***

17        Girlfriend  ****   ^            

18        Feels Like (Perfume)   ^^


Producers Key:

A.K. Paul *     Jungle **        John Calvert ***       GRADES **** Stint ^             Royce Wood Junior ^^            Loxe ^^^       Christian Gregory and Miles James ^^^^

NAO has announced her return to North America as well as her biggest UK tour to date.  The tour kicks off on September 14th at Brooklyn, NY’s Music Hall of Williamsburg and culminates into what will be an incredible night at the Knust in Hamburg, Germany on November 16th.  Prior to the tour, NAO will also be performing at several festivals including Oya Festival in Oslo, Norway. See full list of tour dates below.


Aug 12           Oslo, Norway                                    Oya Festival
Aug 13           Goteborg, Sweden                          Way Out West Festival
Aug 18           Hasselt, Belgium                               Pukkelpop Festival –

Sept 14th        Brooklyn, NY                                      Music Hall of Williamsburg
Sept 15th        Allston, MA                                        Brighton Music Hall
Sept 16th        Montreal, QC                                    Belmont
Sept 18th        Detroit, MI                                          El Club
Sept 19th        Chicago, IL                                        Lincoln Hall
Sept 20th        Grinnell, IA                                         Grinnell College
Sept 23rd        Seattle, WA                                        Barboza
Sept 24th        Vancouver, BC                                  Biltmore
Sept 25th        Portland, OR                                       Holocene
Sept 27th        San Francisco, CA                             Social Hall
Sept 28th        Los Angeles, CA                                El Rey
Oct 1st            Austin TX                                             Austin City Limits


Oct 25            Manchester, United Kingdom          02 Ritz
Oct 26            Glasgow, United Kingdom                Glasgow Art School
Oct 27            Leeds, United Kingdom                     Leeds University Union
Oct 29            Hove, United Kingdom                      All Saints Church
Oct 30            Birmingham, United Kingdom          Birmingham 02 Institute 2
Nov 01            Bristol, United Kingdom                     Motion
Nov 03            London, United Kingdom                 02 Shepherds Bush Empire
Nov 08            Zurich, Switzerland                            Exil
Nov 09            Brussels, Belgium                                Botanique Orangerie
Nov 10            Paris, France                                      Cafe La Danse
Nov 14            Amsterdam, Netherlands                 Paradiso
Nov 16            Hamburg, Germany                          Knust



NAO’s debut album For All We Know available for pre-order now!


Google Play:

“Girlfriend” single on Spotify:









Print Friendly, PDF & Email
In : Music

About the author

Editor of Media website.
Free Newsletter Updated Daily