Comment Off 65 Views
June 10, 2016 – Los Angeles, CA – Indie rock duo Bangups have released their new album Candy Cigarettes. The 9-track set is the first album release from the band since 2013. Candy Cigarettes is now streaming on New Noise Magazine and is available for purchase on iTunes.
“It took a full five hours for our nerves to settle…this was STEVE mother fucking ALBINI,” frontman Joey Dornbos explained. “This was the guy who recorded songs that changed our lives as teenagers. Songs we played at high school talent shows and realized music was the only possible thing worth doing with our lives. This mythic hero was recording our drums, and our guitars, and our vocals. It was a dream come true. Something I never thought would happen. After awhile, though, you look up and realize you’re laughing with the guy. You’re just hanging out calm as can be making a record with a living legend.”
Bangups are an American rock band from Grand Rapids, MI. Its members Joey Dornbos (vocals, guitar) and Brent French (background vocals, drums) met and started playing music together when they were 15 and 9 years old and in 2008 they formed Bangups. The duo has toured nationally including two stints on the Vans Warped Tour. “Candy Cigarettes” was recorded/produced by legendary Steve Albini (Nirvana, Robert Plant, Jimmy Page) and mixed by Rob Schnapf (Beck, The Vines, Islands). Bangups music is infused with classic undertones of the 50s and 60s. The band is electrifying, rare and original.
Candy Cigarettes Tracklist:
1.  Imposter
2.  Va Va Voom
3.  Black & Blue
4.  Burning Down
5.  Grapple Thrash & Drag
6.  Spirals
7.  Illumination Hill
8.  Buddy Holly’s Ghost
9.  Checking Out
Bangups Online:
Official Website:


Print Friendly, PDF & Email
In : Music

About the author

Editor of Media website.
Free Newsletter Updated Daily