Grammy Award winning pianist Yefim “Fima” Bronfman joins Music Director Leonard Slatkin and the DSO for Bronfman Plays Beethoven featuring Beethoven’s Piano Concerto No. 3 in C minor, May 16, 17, 18

Comment Off 39 Views

Gabrielle Poshadlo
Patron Communications and Public Relations Manager
Detroit Symphony Orchestra
[email protected]



DETROIT, (May 1, 2014) – Grammy Award winning pianist Yefim “Fima” Bronfman joins Music Director Leonard Slatkin and the DSO for Bronfman Plays Beethoven featuring Beethoven’s Piano Concerto No. 3 in C minor. The program opens with Krzysztof Penderecki’s Jacob’s Awakening and closes with Copland’s iconic Appalachian Spring.

The concerts will take place on Friday May 16 at 10:45 a.m.; Saturday May 17 at 8 p.m.; and Sunday May 18 at 3 p.m.

The Friday, May 16 performance will be webcast live to a global audience via the DSO’s Live From Orchestra Hall series of HD webcasts. Live From Orchestra Hall is viewable by logging on to or via DSO to Go, the DSO’s free mobile app.


Grammy Award-winning pianist Yefim (“Fima”) Bronfman is among the most talented virtuosos performing today. His commanding technique and exceptional lyrical gifts have won consistent critical acclaim and enthusiastic audiences worldwide for his solo recitals, prestigious orchestral engagements and expanding catalogue of recordings.

Born in Tashkent in the Soviet Union on 10 April 1958, Yefim Bronfman immigrated to Israel with his family in 1973, where he studied with pianist Arie Vardi, head of the Rubin Academy of Music at Tel Aviv University. In the United States, he studied at The Juilliard School, Marlboro and the Curtis Institute, and with Rudolf Firkusny, Leon Fleisher and Rudolf Serkin.


Tickets to Bronfman Plays Beethoven begin at $15 and may be purchased at the Max M. Fisher Music Center box office (3711 Woodward Ave., Detroit); by calling (313) 576-5111; or online at Detroit residents may reserve a ticket for $15 each in any section, excluding the box level, within two weeks of the performance. A valid photo ID with a Detroit address is required. For group discount information (10 people or more), please contact Chuck Dyer at (313) 576-5130 or [email protected].


Detroit Symphony Orchestra

Leonard Slatkin, conductor

Yefim Bronfman, piano

Fri., May 16 at 10:45 a.m.

Sat., May 17 at 8 p.m.

Sun., May 18 at 3 p.m.


Jacob’s Awakening    


Piano Concerto No. 3 in C minor, Op.37 

            I. Allegro con brio

            II. Largo

            III. Rondo: Allegro

                        Yefim Bronfman, piano 




Appalachian Spring (Ballet for Martha)    


The internationally acclaimed Detroit Symphony Orchestra, which celebrated its 125th anniversary in December 2012, is known for trailblazing performances, visionary maestros, collaborations with the world’s foremost musical artists, and an unwavering commitment to Detroit. Esteemed conductor Leonard Slatkin, called “America’s Music Director” by the Los Angeles Times, became the 12th Music Director of the DSO during the 2008-09.  Acclaimed conductor, arranger, and trumpeter Jeff Tyzik serves as Principal Pops Conductor while celebrated trumpeter and composer Terence Blanchard holds the Fred A. and Barbara M. Erb Jazz Creative Director Chair. The DSO’s performance schedule includes Classical, Pops, Jazz, Young People’s, Neighborhood concerts, and collaborations with chart-topping musicians from Smokey Robinson to Kid Rock. A commitment to broadcast innovation began in 1922 when the DSO became the first orchestra in the world to present a radio broadcast and continues today with the free Live from Orchestra Hall webcast series. Making its home at historic Orchestra Hall and the Max M. Fisher Music Center, one of America’s most acoustically perfect concert halls, the DSO actively pursues a mission to impact and serve the community through music. For more information visit or download the free DSO to Go mobile app.


Print Friendly, PDF & Email

About the author

Free Newsletter Updated Daily