“Domino,” the infectious new single from indie electro-pop band Van Damsel, goes to radio this week

Comment Off 31 Views
Stream “Domino” HERE
Pre-Order Underway For Band’s Self-Titled Debut Album,
Set For Release On April 22 Via MIH Entertainment
  Van Damsel   Photo Credit: Jens Kristian Balle
“Domino,” the infectious new single from indie electro-pop band Van Damsel, goes to radio this week. The track, which can be streamed on YouTube and Spotify, is from the British Columbia-based band’s self-titled debut album, which is set for release on April 22 via MIH Entertainment. Fans who pre-order the album digitally on iTunes or the band’s website will instantly receive “Domino” plus “Best of Everything” and “Sophia.” See below for complete track listing.
Produced by the band and Ryan Worsley (Dear Rouge, Paper Moon), Van Damsel features 11 tracks that seamlessly weave organic indie rock with gleaming synth-pop. It’s a sound that tastefully borrows from genre benders like Phoenix, LCD Soundsystem, and even contemporaries like The 1975, resulting in a fresh mix. Baeblemusic praised “Sophia” as a “hip-shaking piece of shimmering guitar pop. Think Walk the Moon back from their ‘Anna Sun’ days, and you get part of the picture.” The Wild Honey Pie observed, “sexy single ‘Best of Everything’…[is] a track gushing with energy and effervescence through its marriage of indie synth-pop and EDM.”
Conceptually, the album is an examination of the human condition: the undying pursuit of excellence coupled with the reality that life is inevitably flawed. “Being human is never being satisfied,” says lead vocalist Sebastien Ste Marie. “Whatever you’re trying to do, there’s always something to strive for and work towards.” Within that context, the band tackles issues ranging from their geographic underpinnings to organized religion, imbalances of power and, in the deeply personal “Domino,” even familial struggle.
Van Damsel will kick off a headline tour of Canada on April 28. See below for itinerary and check out the video for “Sophia,” which was filmed during a previous cross-country jaunt, HERE.
Taking their name from a track on the seminal Dillinger Escape Plan album Miss Machine, Van Damsel is Matthew Barron (drums), Matthew “Renny” Rennehan (bass), Rich Bregoliss (lead guitar, synths) and Sebastien Ste Marie (lead vocals, rhythm guitar, synths). The band has supported such artists as Tokyo Police Club, Mother Mother and Yukon Blonde and placed within the top three of the 2015 PEAK Performance Project – an annual competition sponsored by Triple A station 102.7 The Peak to develop and launch the careers of up-and-coming artists in British Columbia and Alberta. Van Damsel follows the band’s two EPs, Say Hello To Your Mother (2012) and The Sunshine Girl (2013).
Van Damsel – Track Listing
  1. Foreword
  2. Domino
  3. Caught
  4. Best of Everything
  5. Sophia
  6. The 21st Century
  7. Circular Symphony
  8. Jericho
  9. People In The City
  10. Post Script
  11. Sentences
Van Damsel –Upcoming Tour Dates
4/28 – Saskatoon, SK – Capitol Music Club
4/29 – Winnipeg, MB – West End Cultural Centre
5/4 – Sudbury, ON – The Asylum
5/5 – Toronto, ON – The Cave
5/7 – Montreal, QC  – Hemisphere Gauche
5/14 – Moncton, NB – Tide & Boar Gastropub
5/19 – Ottawa, ON – Zaphod Beeblebrox
5/20 – Sault Ste Marie, ON – LopLops


Print Friendly, PDF & Email
In : Music

About the author

Editor of Don411.com Media website.
Free Newsletter Updated Daily