CONTACT! “An Evening of Young American Composers” Musicians from the New York Philharmonic 92Y Concerts at SubCulture, Tuesday, June 3, 7:30 PM

Comment Off 29 Views
For more information, contact Kirshbaum Demler & Associates at 212-222-4843 or visit our website.


Tuesday, June 3, 7:30 PM
“An Evening of Young American Composers”
Musicians from the New York Philharmonic

92Y Concerts at SubCulture

A co-presentation with the New York Philharmonic and 92nd Street Y

This season’s collaboration between 92nd Street Y and the New York Philharmonic in CONTACT!, the Philharmonic’s new-music series, is one of the highlights of the inaugural NY PHIL BIENNIAL, a kaleidoscopic exploration of today’s music, May 28–June 7.

The series returns to the vibrant new underground performing arts space SubCulture on Bleecker Street for a program that is “made in the USA”— works for solo instruments by six emerging American composers, including five World Premiere–New York Philharmonic Commissions and a New York Premiere, performed by New  York Philharmonic musicians. Marc Kaplan, co-founder/director of SubCulture, will host the concert, briefly interviewing each composer and soloist duo before their work is performed. All audience members attending this concert are invited to meet composers and performers at the bar in SubCulture as part of the post-concert NY PHIL BIENNIAL Play Date, one of several meet-ups taking place during the biennial. Biennial Pass holders will receive a total of two free drink vouchers redeemable at Play Dates.

Tuesday, June 3, 7:30 PM
SubCulture – 45 Bleecker Street (downstairs)

“An Evening of Young American Composers”
Marc Kaplan, host
Musicians from the New York Philharmonic

PAOLA PRESTINI: Eight Takes (for Solo Cello)**
            Sumire Kudo, cello
ERIC NATHAN: As Above, So Below (for Solo Trombone)**
            Joseph Alessi, trombone
OSCAR BETTISON: Threaded Madrigals (for Solo Viola)**
            Rebecca Young, viola
RYAN BROWN: Four Pieces for Solo Piano*
            Eric Huebner, piano
MICHAEL HERSCH: Of Sorrow Born: Seven Elegies (for Solo Violin)**
            Yulia Ziskel, violin
CHRIS KAPICA: Fandanglish (for Solo Clarinet)**
            Pascual Martínez Forteza, clarinet
92 Y SubCulture

*New York premiere
**World premiere, New York Philharmonic commission

Tickets $25, 40

Tickets are available at or 212-415-5500.

For additional press inquiries, please contact Kirshbaum Demler & Associates: 
212-222-4843 | [email protected]


FOR 140 YEARS, 92Y has connected people at every stage of life to the worlds of education, the arts, health and wellness, and Jewish life. A world-class nonprofit community and cultural center, it enriches lives, creates community and elevates humanity through the breadth and depth of its extraordinary programs. More than 300,000 people visit 92Y annually, and many more connect through digital and social media, live webcasts of events, and an extensive archive of stage programs and original content produced for the web, all available at Founded in 1874 and celebrating its 140th anniversary this spring, 92Y is a proudly Jewish organization that embraces its heritage and welcomes people of all perspectives and backgrounds. For more information, visit

For more information, visit

©2014 Kirshbaum Demler & Associates
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

About the author

Free Newsletter Updated Daily