COLD ROSES’ NEW ALBUM, ESCAPE TO ANYWHERE, SET FOR JULY 21 RELEASE ON RECORDED RECORDS; Band Plays Summer Music Kickoff Fest In Philadelphia And Firefly Music Festival In Dover, DE

Comment Off 135 Views
Band Plays Summer Music Kickoff Fest In Philadelphia And
Firefly Music Festival In Dover, DE
Escape To Anywhere, Cold Roses’ new album, will be released on July 21. On the strength of its independent releases and powerful live performances, the band got its first spins from legendary Philadelphia radio station WMMR, which named Cold Roses Artist of the Month. Soon stations across the U.S. were playing songs from the band. Now Cold Roses have signed to Recorded Records. Escape To Anywhere is the first release from the new, Los Angeles-based independent label.
The Philadelphia-bred band – which takes its name from a Ryan Adams song – will preview songs from Escape To Anywhere at the Summer Kickoff Music Fest in Philadelphia on June 3 and at the Firefly Music Festival in Dover, DE on June 15. Additional dates will be announced soon. Get a taste of Cold Roses with this video introduction clip, which captures the band in the studio and performing live.
Escape To Anywhere was recorded at Los Angeles’ Cactus studio with veteran producers David J. Holman (who also engineered) and Roger Paglia. Cold Roses deftly merge forceful sonic punch, crafty melodic hooks and emotionally forthright lyrical content. These qualities are apparent throughout the album’s 12 original songs, from the surging, anthemic drive of the first single, “Staying Alive Ain’t Easy,” to the soulful drama of “Divine Lorraine” to the haunting orchestral balladry of “Words Without Speaking” to the inventive acoustic textures of “Next to You” to the soaring epic rock of “No Silence in the City.” See below for the complete track listing.
“I think that the song ‘Escape to Anywhere’ really encompasses the album,” says singer-guitarist-songwriter Rob Clancy. “It’s about that feeling of always wanting to be somewhere else, but maybe not really being sure of exactly where you want to go.” That restless sense of adventure runs through Escape to Anywhere. While it showcases Cold Roses’ credentials as a world-class outfit, the band’s hometown has played a key role in developing the band’s music and character.
“This band has definitely been shaped by where we’re from,” explains Clancy. “Philly has an underdog quality, and it also has such a rich R&B and jazz heritage. It’s a town with a lot of heart that doesn’t put up with bullshit, and it’s a working-class town with a strong work ethic. It has some of the toughest crowds in the country to win over. We’ve played to such a wide variety of people and found a way to connect with each one of them.”
After cutting his teeth playing in local bands in his early teen years, Clancy formed Cold Roses. The sextet, which was named Best Rock Band at the 2016 Hollywood Music In Media Awards, also features Matt Keppler (bass), Robby Webb (drums), Dan Finn (keyboards), Rick Rein (trumpet) and Tom Petraccarro (saxophone).
The Spartanburg Herald Journal said, “”Cold Roses play rock ‘n’ roll the way it ought to be played …a no-frills sound packed with true grit and heartfelt emotion. Think early R.E.M. and Crazy Horse-era Neil Young mixed with contemporary artists such as Ryan Adams and Band of Horses.”
Escape to Anywhere – Track Listing
  1. Read Your Mind
  2. Like You Could Always Do
  3. Staying Alive Ain’t Easy
  4. Divine Lorraine
  5. Words Without Speaking
  6. No Silence In The City
  7. Next To You
  8. Escape To Anywhere
  9. Leave You Alone
  10. Tired Of Losing You
  11. Together
  12. There May Come A Time
For more information on Recorded Records, visit:


Print Friendly, PDF & Email
In : Music

About the author

Editor of Media website.
Free Newsletter Updated Daily