Canton Symphony Orchestra: String Trio Set to Perform Beethoven On March 12; Amelia Giles on violin, Laura Krentzman on viola and Erica Snowden on cello will perform a 1:00pm matinee in Foundation Hall at the Zimmermann Symphony Center

Comment Off 60 Views
String Trio Set to Perform Beethoven

CANTON, OH (March 5, 2015) – Beethoven is well known for composing grand orchestral symphonies and piano concerti, but he also wrote many works for smaller, chamber ensembles.  Some of these works will be performed by a Canton Symphony Orchestra string trio as part of the orchestra’s Casual Series.   On March 12, the trio of Amelia Giles on violin, Laura Krentzman on viola and Erica Snowden on cello will perform a 1:00pm matinee in Foundation Hall at the Zimmermann Symphony Center (2331 17th Street NW, Canton) and again at 7:00pm at Tapas 218 restaurant in downtown Canton.

The Casual Series spotlights small ensembles of Canton Symphony Orchestra musicians performing music that is a combination of classical and contemporary in a setting that is relaxed and intimate.  The musicians interact with the audience and share background information about the music on the program.  The program of all Beethoven pieces is part of the orchestra’s two-month Beethoven Festival and will include the “Eyeglass” duo for viola and cello, Duo No. 2 in F Major and Trio No. 1 in G Major.

Amelia Giles, originally from Great Barrington Massachusetts, received her Bachelor of Music in violin performance from the Manhattan School of Music and her Masters of Music in both violin performance and chamber music from the University of Michigan.  She is a member of the Canton Symphony Orchestra, Akron Symphony and is Associate Concertmaster of the Ashland Symphony.  She maintains a teaching studio in Cleveland and is currently enrolled in the Suzuki Pedagogy Program at Cleveland Institute of Music.

Laura Krentzman completed her undergraduate studies at the New England Conservatory of Music in Boston and graduate studies at the University of North Texas.  Laura has performed as a soloist with the Hartford Symphony Orchestra, the University of North Texas Collegium Musicum, the Carnegie Mellon Contemporary Music Ensemble and the Hartford Independent Chamber Orchestra.  Laura is currently second chair viola for the Canton Symphony Orchestra and also performs with the Pittsburgh Opera and Wheeling Symphony.

Erica Snowden has been a very active performer and teacher in the Greater Cleveland area. She is a faculty member at Cleveland State University, principal cellist of the Canton Symphony, associate principal of the Erie Philharmonic, and a member of the Akron Symphony. Erica has also played principal cello in Cleveland’s own Opera Circle and Opera Per Tutti.  Miss Snowden holds a Bachelor’s and Master’s degree in performance and Suzuki Pedagogy from the Cleveland Institute of Music.

Tickets for the matinee are $15 for regular adult admission and $10 for students and seniors.  A dessert and coffee reception for audience members and the performers is available after the concert and is included in the ticket price. Advance sale tickets for the event can be purchased by calling the box office at (330) 452-2094 or by visiting  Tickets will also be available at the door.
Tapas 218 (218 Court Ave. NW, Canton) will host the evening performance on the same date beginning at 7:00pm.  Tapas 218 will offer food and/or drink specials for the performance.  There is no cover charge for the evening performance.  Those interested in attending the evening performance are encouraged to make a reservation by calling the restaurant at 330-456-3888.

Founded in 1937, the Canton Symphony Orchestra is a fully professional ensemble and organization dedicated to performing concerts that enrich, educate and entertain residents of Stark County and beyond. The orchestra performs classical, holiday, and a variety of educational programs in Umstattd Performing Arts Hall, 2323 17th Street NW, Canton, Ohio, as well as other venues in Stark County. For more information, please visit or call (330)452-2094. Administrative offices are located at the Zimmermann Symphony Center 2331 17th Street NW, Canton OH 44708.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

About the author

Editor of Media website.
Free Newsletter Updated Daily