Comment Off 63 Views




Princeton University Concerts will pay tribute to its long history of presenting many of the world’s greatest orchestras during the series’ 125th anniversary series: on Thursday, April 11, 2019 at 8PM, the Australian Chamber Orchestra will perform at Richardson Auditorium (Alexander Hall), directed by Richard Tognetti and joined by PUC veteran pianist Paul Lewis. The visceral, explosive energy the 18-player orchestra generates as an ensemble pushes the boundaries of chamber music, especially in as diverse a program as a brand-new Concerto Grosso by American composer Samuel Adams paired with Mozarts evergreen “Elvira Madigan” Piano Concerto No. 21 in C Major, K. 467 as well as an arrangement of Brahms’ aching String Sextet in G Major, Op. 36. At 7PM, Princeton University Concerts Director Marna Seltzer will announce the series’ exciting 2019-20 season in a pre-concert event free to all concert ticket-holders.


Paul Lewis will also present the final Live Music Meditation of the 2018-19 season at 12:30PM on April 11, guided by Princeton University Associate Dean of Religious Life Matthew Weiner, in Richardson Auditorium, Alexander Hall. This is a FREE and unticketed opportunity to experience world-class music on an incredibly personal and visceral level while meditating to live music performed by the pianist. No experience is necessary.


Concert tickets are $10-$55, available online at, by phone at 609-258-9220, or in person two hours prior to the concert at the Richardson Auditorium Box Office.


Princeton University Concerts has seen some of the most prestigious orchestras on its stage—from the Cleveland Orchestra with conductor George Szell to the Berlin Philharmonic with conductor Herbert von Karajan. The Philharmonic Society of New York (now known as the New York Philharmonic) even came to the series with legendary conductor Gustav Mahler at the podium. The Australian Chamber Orchestra is able to translate that grand historic, symphonic tradition into the accessibility, intimacy, and vibrancy of the modern day. Within the uniquely warm environment of Richardson Auditorium, the energy of their collective music – performed standing, and without a traditional conductor – is all the more visceral.



Internationally renowned for inspired programming and the rapturous response of audiences and critics, the Australian Chamber Orchestra is a product of their country’s vibrant, adventurous and enquiring spirit. In performances around Australia, around the world and on many recordings, the ACO moves hearts and stimulates minds with repertoire spanning six centuries and a vitality and virtuosity unmatched by other ensembles.

The ACO was founded in 1975. Every year, this ensemble presents performances of the highest standard to audiences around the world, including 10,000 subscribers across Australia. The ACO has performed in 343 cities in 37 countries. The ACO’s unique artistic style encompasses not only the masterworks of the classical repertoire, but innovative cross-artform projects and a vigorous commissioning program. The outstanding Australian musician Richard Tognetti was appointed as Artistic Director and Lead Violin in 1989. Under his inspiring leadership, the ACO has performed as a flexible and versatile “ensemble of soloists,” on modern and period instruments, as a small chamber group, a small symphony orchestra, and as an electro-acoustic collective. In a nod to past traditions, only the cellists are seated – the resulting sense of energy and individuality is one of the most commented-upon elements of an ACO concert experience.



Paul Lewis is internationally regarded as one of the leading musicians of his generation. His numerous awards have included the Royal Philharmonic Society’s Instrumentalist of the Year, two Edison awards, three Gramophone awards, the Diapason D’or de l’Annee, the Premio Internazionale Accademia Musicale Chigiana, and the South Bank Show Classical Music award. In 2016 he was awarded a CBE in the Queen’s Birthday Honours list, and holds honorary doctorates from Southampton University and Edge Hill University.

He performs regularly as soloist with the world’s great orchestras and is a frequent guest at the most prestigious international festivals, including Lucerne, Mostly Mozart (New York), Tanglewood, Schubertiade, Salzburg, Edinburgh, and London’s BBC Proms where in 2010 he became the first pianist to perform a complete Beethoven piano concerto cycle in one season. His recital career takes him to venues such as London’s Royal Festival Hall, Alice Tully and Carnegie Hall in New York, Vienna’s  Musikverein and Konzerthaus, the Theatre des Champs Élysees in Paris, the Concertgebouw in Amsterdam, Berlin Philharmonie and Konzerthaus, Tonhalle Zurich, Palau de Musica Barcelona, Symphony Hall Chicago, Oji Hall in Tokyo and Melbourne’s Recital Centre.







WHEN: Concert: Thursday, April 11, 2019 at 8PM.

2019-20 Season Announcement: 7PM by Director Marna Seltzer, free to ticketholders.

Live Music Meditation with Paul Lewis: 12:30PM, free and unticketed

WHAT: SAMUEL ADAMS Concerto Grosso

MOZART Piano Concerto No. 21 in C Major, K. 467

BRAHMS String Sextet in G Major, Op. 36, arr. for string orchestra

WHERE: Princeton University Concerts, Richardson Auditorium in Alexander Hall, Princeton University
TICKETS: $55, 45, 25 General; $10 Students. Tickets are available online at, by phone at 609-258-9220, or in person two hours prior to the concert at the Richardson Auditorium Box Office. The Live Music Meditation with Paul Lewis is free and unticketed.
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

About the author

Editor of Media website.
Free Newsletter Updated Daily