5th Annual Key West Film Festival Announces Official Line-Up; Opening Night Film “20th Century Women” Announced

Comment Off 77 Views

5th Annual Key West Film Festival Announces Official Line-Up
Opening Night Film “20th Century Women” Announced
October 19, 2016, New York, NYThe 5th Annual Key West Film Festival announced today its official 2016 line-up including the opening night film, 20th Century Women, directed by Mike Mills and starring Annette Bening, Elle Fanning, Greta Gerwig and Billy Crudup. As part of the festival’s Critics Focus program, Amy Nicholson, Chief Film Critic of MTV, will present and lead a conversation of 20th Century Women with David Fear, Senior Film/TV Editor of Rolling Stone.

Director of Programming Michael Tuckman says, “I could not be more thrilled with Amy Nicholson’s choice of 20th Century Women to kick off our 5th Anniversary edition of festival. Annette Bening’s performance is Oscar-deserving and the rich depth of the balance of the leading cast is Altman-esque in its quality. Amy’s discussion after the film will bring a cunning critic’s eye to this fabulous film for audiences.”

The festival will take place in Key West from November 16th through November 20th and includes special event screenings and a curated selection of over 25 feature films encompassing narrative features, costume design, documentaries, foreign language cinema, LGBT cinema and works by Florida filmmakers. The complete line-up is as follows:


20th Century Women by Mike Mills, 2016, Opening Night
Manchester by the Sea by Kenneth Lonergan, 2016, Closing Night


Hail, Caesar! by Joel and Ethan Coen, 2016
La La Land by Damien Chazelle, 2016


The Bandit by Jesse Moss, 2016


After Adderall by Stephan Elliott, 2016
Blood Stripe by Remy Auberjonois, 2016
The Daughter by Simon Stone, 2016
Folk Hero and Funny Guy by Jeff Grace, 2016
Live Cargo by Logan Sandler, 2016
Youth in Oregon by Joel David Moore, 2016


Contemporary Color by Bill Ross and Turner Ross, 2016
Don’t Blink: Robert Frank by Laura Israel, 2016
The Islands and the Whales by Mike Day, 2016
Jeremiah Tower: The Last Magnificent by Lydia Tenaglia, 2015
The Last Laugh by Ferne Pearlstein, 2016
The Rolling Stones Olé, Olé, Olé!: A Trip Across Latin America by Paul Dugdale, 2016
A Song for You: The Austin City Limits Story by Keith Maitland, 2016
Sour Grapes by Reuben Atlas and Jerry Rothwell, 2016


3 by Lou Simon, 2016
Funeral Days by Jon Weinberg, 2016
Love and Hostages by Javier Mayol, 2016
Papa by Shane Eason, 2016
Welcome to This House by Barbara Hammer, 2015


Kalebagiak by Daniel Calparsoro, Iñaki Camacho, Borja Cobeaga, María Elorza, Maider Férnandez, Isabel Herguera, Ekain Irigoien, Julio Medem, Gracia Querejeta and Luiso Berdejo, 2016. Curated by the San Sebastian Film Festival.
Lamb by Yared Zeleke, 2016
Neruda by Pablo Larraín, 2016
One Week and a Day by Asaph Polonsky, 2016
Paris, Love, Cut by Arnaud Viard, 2016


King Cobra by Justin Kelly, 2016
Lovesong by So-yong Kim, 2016
Miles by Nathan Adloff, 2016
Slash by Clay Liford, 2016
Strike a Pose by Ester Gould and Reijer Zwaan, 2016


Florida Short Film Showcase, A selection of short films directed and produced by Florida filmmakers
2016 Sundance Short Films, A selection of short films from this year’s Sundance Film Festival

In partnership with the San Sebastian Film Festival, the curated selection of Kalebagiak was also announced today. The omnibus film, to be presented at this year’s Key West Film Festival, is directed by Daniel Calparsoro, Iñaki Camacho, Borja Cobeaga, María Elorza, Maider Férnandez, Isabel Herguera, Ekain Irigoien, Julio Medem, Gracia Querejeta and Luiso Berdejo.

Celebrated filmmakers and actors will attend the festival this year, including Academy Award®-nominated costume designers Mary Zophres and Deborah Nadoolman Landis, as well as and legendary actor Burt Reynolds who will receive the Golden Key Award for Career Achievement.

Key West Film Festival recently announced the inaugural Costume Design Focus honoring Academy Award®-nominated costume designer Mary Zophres, and the juried Critics’ Prize as a new element of the successful Critics Focus program, now in its second year. Also previously announced was the Golden Key Award for Career Achievement to be given to Burt Reynolds at the festival, and the second annual Brett Ratner Florida Student Filmmaker Scholarship, a $7500 scholarship awarded to two Florida student filmmakers chosen from six participating Florida colleges and universities.

Festival venues include the historic San Carlos Institute, where the campaign for Cuba’s independence from colonial powers was planned in 1892.  The Key West Film Festival has equipped the San Carlos with DCP technology, and it will host gala screenings. Other screening venues include the Key West Theater, the Studios of Key West and additional venues to be named later. Host venues for social events include the Truman House, the Waldorf Astoria Casa Marina and the Southernmost Mansion.

Visit kwfilmfest.com for full program information, a schedule of events and travel and lodging details.

About the Key West Film Festival

Creativity, diversity, sustainability and beauty. The Key West Film Festival is an annual celebration of film and filmmakers, set to take place November 16-20, 2016.

A diverse, entertaining and artistically rigorous selection of films will be represented through a broad array of categories that offer opportunities for filmmakers, both aspiring and established, to commune and exchange ideas with each other while showing their work to audiences in an historic and artistically vibrant tropical paradise.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
In : Movies

About the author

Editor of Don411.com Media website.
Free Newsletter Updated Daily