From an Iranian Feast in rural Shropshire and Herefordshire to high octane Shakespeare in Cumbria and everything, and everywhere, in-between… Rural Touring Seasonal Highlights – Winter/Spring 2016

Comment Off 2 Views

From an Iranian Feast in rural Shropshire and Herefordshire to high octane Shakespeare in Cumbria and everything, and everywhere, in-between… Rural Touring Seasonal Highlights – Winter/Spring 2016

Not to be beaten by floods or anything else the British weather can throw at them, rural audiences are set to enjoy a sensational spring as the members of the National Rural Touring Forum present a diverse range of high quality live entertainment from dance to drama throughout the country.

With an eclectic mix including a supercharged re-telling of Macbeth and an Iranian feast, the season will bring the best in live theatre, music and dance to rural communities across the UK with productions handpicked for their high level of quality. From children’s productions to others addressing highly political topics such as fracking, the season is as varied as the venues taking part.

A network of rural touring schemes, arts producers and local promoters combine to bring the very best in live performances to rural communities that may otherwise have limited access to the arts. Often this involves playing to small audiences in a myriad of locations such as village halls and pubs, each of which comes with its own challenges and charms.

NRTF’s Development Director, Ralph Lister, commented on the forthcoming season and its highlights:

“Every season sees the offering available to rural touring venues grow and grow – both in terms of the numbers of productions and also the level of quality which is now phenomenal. Rural touring is no longer to be considered the poor relation of the arts world with more companies, including established main house companies, embracing the challenges and rewards it has to offer”.

 

TASTE – Cscape Dance Company

Inspired by the tapestries of Grayson Perry, TASTE is a romp of a show. Relishing in the national obsessions with social class and the cultural extremities of food, fashion and style, it blends theatre, dance, writing and music. TASTE explores what defines our identity and ponders the intricacies behind our choices. A dance show with a difference that’s as refreshing as a nice cup of tea!

Tiny Heroes – Daniel Bye

Tiny Heroes, a new production from award-winning theatre-maker Daniel Bye, tells the stories of North Devon locals, the unsung heroes whose song is now set to be sung.

Connected directly to the communities in which it will appear, Tiny Heroes is about the people who saved your life, your day, or your bacon; the people who took the time, took a stand, took a chance; the people who tried, even if they failed.

The Iranian Feast – Farnham Maltings

Take your seat for The Iranian Feast, a contemporary piece of British theatre with delicious food from the heart of Persia. Part thriller, part cookery lesson this is a story of a family in modern day Tehran working out how life will be in the future. One that is surprising, uplifting and a celebration of being alive. Going in the pot are fresh herbs, spices, sweet vegetables, and Eli’s mother’s secret ingredient.

The Boy Who Bit Picasso – Untied Artists

Inspired by the children’s book by Antony Penrose, Untied Artists bring this wonderful tale to life in an interactive theatre show which was originally co-produced with Oxford Playhouse. Featuring storytelling, music and lots of chances to make your own art for everyone aged four and up.

Macbeth – Out Of Chaos

Something wicked this way comes. In what may be their greatest challenge yet, Out Of Chaos present all the drama, intrigue and madness of William Shakespeare’s Macbeth in 80 high-octane minutes with the full gamut of 30 characters brilliantly and boldly brought to life by just two actors.

Produced in association with mac birmingham, Oxford Playhouse & The Civic, Barnsley.

This Land – Pentabus

Pentabus take on one of the hottest rural topics of the moment, fracking, in this co-production with Salisbury Playhouse.

This Land digs down through the history – and the future – of a patch of earth and everything that has and will happen there. Be taken on a theatrical journey through an ever-changing landscape with this new play.

Other Highlights….

Transports (Pipeline Theatre Company); Zulu Tradition; Salt In The Sugar Jar (Nikesh Shukla); The Mighty Prince And Other Fabulous Tales (Open Sky Productions); Crazy Glue (Single Shoe Productions); Can You Dig It? (Xylophone Productions); The Tailor Of Inverness (Dogstar Theatre); Amadou Diagne Band; Dendende (Anna Mudeka Band); Muse (Juge Productions).

 

About The National Rural Touring Forum (NRTF)

NRTF represents a number of mainly rural touring schemes and rural arts development agencies, across England, Wales and Scotland that aim to help local people to promote high quality arts events and experiences in rural and other community venues. NRTF members include rural touring schemes, voluntary promoting groups, performing companies, artists, musicians, producers, small venues and festivals.

www.ruraltouring.org

 

Websites for further information

Rural Touring Schemes:

Applause Rural Touring – www.applause.org.uk

Artsreach – www.artsreach.co.uk

Beaford Arts – www.beaford-arts.org.uk

Cheshire Rural Touring Arts – www.cheshireruraltouringarts.co.uk

Live & Local – www.liveandlocal.org.uk

Hog the Limelight – www.hampshireculturaltrust.org.uk/content/hog-limelight

Night Out Wales – www.nightout.org.uk

Rural Arts North Yorkshire – www.ruralarts.org

Rural Arts Wiltshire / The Pound Arts Trust – http://www.poundarts.org.uk/Touring

Take Art – www.takeart.org

The Touring Network – www.thetouringnetwork.com

 

Production Information:

TASTE – Cscape – http://cscape.org.uk/index.php/productions/taste/

Tiny Heroes – Daniel Bye – http://www.danielbye.co.uk/tiny-heroes.html

The Iranian Feast – Farnham Maltings – http://theatre.farnhammaltings.com/portfolio/the-iranian-feast/

The Boy Who Bit Picasso – Untied Artists – http://theuntiedartists.co.uk/Untied_Artists/Picasso_Tour.html

Macbeth – Out Of Chaos – http://unmythable.co.uk/macbeth/

This Land – Pentabus – http://www.pentabus.co.uk/thisland

Transports – Pipeline Theatre Company – http://www.pipelinetheatre.com/transports.html

Zulu Traditionhttp://www.zulutradition.com/

Salt In The Sugar Jar – Nikesh Shukla – http://www.nikesh-shukla.com/

The Mighty Prince And Other Fabulous Tales – Open Sky Productions – http://www.openskyahead.co.uk/mightyprince.html

Crazy Glue – Single Shoe Productions – http://www.singleshoeproductions.com/#!theatreproductions/cb3i

Can You Dig It? – Xylophone Productions – http://can-you-dig-it.co.uk/

The Tailor of Inverness – Dogstar Theatre – http://www.dogstartheatre.co.uk/the-tailor-of-inverness.html

Amadou Diagne Band – http://amadoudiagne.com

Dendende – Anna Mudeka Band – http://annamudeka.com/band/

 

Muse – Juge Productions – http://www.cabaretmuse.com/

Print Friendly

About the author

Editor of Don411.com Media website.
Free Newsletter Updated Daily