The Six Van Cliburn International Piano Competition Finalists Compete Live on Big Screens Nationwide June 10

Comment Off 16 Views

The Six Van Cliburn International Piano Competition Finalists Compete Live on Big Screens Nationwide June 10

 

WHAT:                  In honor of famed pianist Van Cliburn, a Texan who won the 1958 International Tchaikovsky Competition in Moscow at the height of the Cold War, comes a musical event of epic proportions – “2017 Cliburn Competition LIVE in Cinemas.” The one-day event will highlight the six final pianists in concerto performances, for the first time ever in movie theaters across the U.S.

The finalists competing for the grand prize are:
Kenneth Broberg, 23, United States
Rachel Cheung, 25, Hong Kong
Yury Favorin, 30, Russia
Daniel Hsu, 19, United States
Yekwon Sunwoo, 28, South Korea
Georgy Tchaidze, 29, Russia
For more information about the competitors, visit Cliburn.org.

On June 9–10, each will perform a concerto of his or her choice with the Fort Worth Symphony Orchestra conducted by Leonard Slatkin.

The last two concerts of the final round will be shown live in cinemas nationwide on June 10. The event will begin with a delayed presentation of Friday night’s performances, leading into a live broadcast of Saturday afternoon’s performances, featuring all six finalists in their final concertos with the orchestra.

WHO:                    Fathom Events and the Van Cliburn International Piano Competition

WHEN:                  Saturday, June 10, 2017; 12:55 p.m. ET /11:55 a.m. CT /10:55 a.m. MT / 9:55 a.m. PT

WHERE:               Tickets for “2017 Cliburn Competition LIVE in Cinemas” can be purchased online by visiting www.FathomEvents.com or at participating theater box offices. Fans throughout the U.S. will be able to enjoy the event in nearly 300 select movie theaters through Fathom’s Digital Broadcast Network (DBN). For a complete list of theater locations visit the Fathom Events website (theaters and participants are subject to change).

 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

About the author

Editor of Don411.com Media website.
Free Newsletter Updated Daily