Quotidian Theatre Company Presents Audrey Cefaly’s New Southern Drama Maytag Virgin as Part of D.C.’s Women’s Voices Theater Festival

Comment Off 6 Views

Quotidian Theatre Company Presents Audrey Cefaly’s New Southern Drama Maytag Virgin as Part of D.C.’s Women’s Voices Theater Festival

BETHESDA, Md. – Quotidian Theatre Company kicks off its dynamic 2016 season, and its participation in the Washington, DC Women’s Voice Theater Festival, with the world premiere of playwright Audrey Cefaly’s newest work, Maytag Virgin.

This play marks the second time Cefaly has paired with Quotidian since the debut of her original work Mill Town Girls in 2007. Quotidian has long supported Cefaly’s work, whose play The Gulf recently won the Samuel French Off-Off Broadway Short Play Festival and will be published and licensed by Samuel French later this year.

Cefaly’s southern stories (The Gulf, Fin and Euba, Mill Town Girls, Maytag Virgin) are richly-layered and distilled, and her directing style focuses on the intimate connections within her character-driven narratives. “I strive to create dialogue that is free from noise,” said Cefaly. “Silence is good. It’s necessary. But, there is a misconception that if there’s no one speaking, then there’s nothing happening. I’m trying to change that mindset, and tell the fullest story I can tell.”

Maytag Virgin follows Alabama school teacher Lizzy Nash (Gillian Shelly) and her new neighbor Jack Key (Will Hardy) over the year following the tragic death of Lizzy’s husband. The play explores the ideas of inertia and self-enlightenment and the bridge between the two.

Maytag Virgin opens October 2 at the Writer’s Center in Bethesda, MD, and runs weekends through November 2. There will also be a reading of the piece at the Kennedy Center’s Page to Stage Festival on September 5, at 2:30pm.

Full Performance Schedule

Thu, Oct 1, 8pm
$10 Preview – Pay cash at the door.

Fri, Oct 2, 8pm
Sat, Oct 3, 8pm
Sun, Oct 4, 2pm

Thu, Oct 8, 8pm
Sat, Oct 10, 2pm
Sat, Oct 10, 8pm
Sun, Oct 11, 2pm

Fri, Oct 16, 8pm
Sat, Oct 17, 8pm
Sun, Oct 18, 2pm

Fri, Oct 2, 8pm
Sat, Oct 3, 8pm
Sun, Oct 4, 2pm

Fri, Oct 23, 8pm
Sat, Oct 24, 8pm
Sun, Oct 25, 2pm

Fri, Oct 30, 8pm
Sat, Oct 31, 2pm
Sat, Oct 31, 8pm
Sun, Oct 1, 2pm

Tickets for the general public are available at Brown Paper Tickets (http://www.brownpapertickets.com/event/2174800) or by calling the Quotidian Theatre Company box office at 301-816-1023.

— 30 —

Our mission at Quotidian Theatre Company is to find truth and beauty in the everyday, presenting plays in an understated, impressionistic style. We are proud to be the Resident Theater Company at our performance space, The Writer’s Center in Bethesda.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

About the author

Editor of Don411.com Media website.

Free Newsletter Updated Daily