Live music venue and Southern comfort food restaurant the Blue Rooster announces their nightly live music schedule for May

Comment Off 18 Views
National and Florida artists descend on Sarasota all through the month of May…
 

May live music schedule

at the Blue Rooster in Sarasota six nights a week.

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE · Media Contact: Veronica Pastore · 941.330.4838

[April 17, 2014 — Sarasota, Fla.] Live music venue and Southern comfort food restaurant the Blue Rooster (1525 Fourth St., 388-7539) announces their nightly live music schedule for May.

Fresh from the opening slot at this year’s Tampa Bay Blues Festival, the Selwyn Birchwood Band returns to the Blue Rooster for a show from 8:30 to 11:30 p.m., Sat., May 3, $10 cover. Birchwood began his rise to fame with a win at the International Blues Challenge in 2013, leading to a recording contract with Alligator Records and a new album due out this June.

An amalgamation of blues, rock, funk, soul and world music, Australian singer/songwriter Harper creates a mix of roots music through his creative use of the harp and didgeridoo. He plays his first Sarasota show at the Blue Rooster from 8:30 to 11:30 p.m., Fri., May 9, $5 cover. Harper is backed by his Michigan-based band, Midwest Kind.

A 37-year industry veteran, Michael Ross brings his double bass and his band, the Michael Ross Five, to the Blue Rooster from 7 to 10 p.m., Tues., May 13, $5 cover. He is a fixture on the jazz scene and a critically lauded songwriter as well as instrumentalist.

Finally, one of Florida’s favorites, the Damon Fowler Group, will again play TBR from 8:30 to 11:30 p.m. on Fri., May 30, $10 cover. Fowler is a well-known local blues guitar prodigy and is currently touring in support of his latest album on Blind Pig Records, “Please Come Home.”

Click here to download a courtesy photo of Selywn Birchwood.

FULL MAY MUSIC SCHEDULE:

Reverend Barry and the Funktastic Soul ft the Hellacious Horns, 8-11 p.m., Fri., May 1, no cover.
Suitcase Full of Blues, 8:30-11:30 p.m., Fri., May 2, no cover.
Selwyn Birchwood Band, 8:30-11:30 p.m., Sat., May 3, $10.
Britta’s Spirit Truth , 11 a.m. to 1 p.m., Sun., May 4, no cover.
George Worthmore, 6:30-9:30 p.m., Sun., May 4, no cover.
Sarasota Jazz Project, 7-9:30 p.m., Tues., May 6, $5.
Radio-Free Carmela and The Transmitters, 7:30-10:30 p.m., Wed., May 7, no cover.
AJ & the Automatics, 8-11 p.m., Thurs., May 8, no cover.
Harper and Midwest Kind, 8:30-11:30 p.m., Fri., May 9, $5.
Doug Deming & The Jewel Tones, 8:30-11:30 p.m., Sat., May 10, no cover.
Sudie and the Spirit Singers, 11 a.m. to 1 p.m., Sun., May 11, no cover.
Lauren Mitchell and the Professor, 6:30-9:30 p.m., Sun., May 11, no cover.
Michael Ross Five, 7-10 p.m., Tues., May 13, $5.
Ari & the Alibis, 7:30-10:30 p.m., Wed., May 14, no cover.
Billy Seward Band, 8-11 p.m., Thus., May 15, no cover.
Lauren Mitchell Band, 8:30-11:30 p.m., Fri., May 16, $5.
Kettle of Fish, 8:30-11:30 p.m., Sat., May 17, $5.
Lauren Mitchell, 11 a.m. to 1 p.m., Sun., May 18, no cover.
Smith & James, 6:30-9:30 p.m., Sun., May 18, no cover.
Suitcase Full of Blues, 7-10 p.m., Tues., May 20, no cover.
Ted Stevens & The Doo-Shots, 7:30-10:30 p.m., Wed., May 21, no cover.
Doug Deming & The Jewel Tones, 8-11 p.m., Thurs., May 22, no cover.
The Mix Tapes, 8:30-11:30 p.m., Fri., May 23, no cover.
Mike Imbasciani & his BluezRockerz, 8:30-11:30 p.m., Sat., May 24, $5.
Shantel & the Duets, 11:00 a.m. to 1:00 p.m., Sun., May 25, no cover
Ari and the Alibis, 7:30-10:30 p.m., Wed., May 28, no cover.
RJ Harman & Company, 8-11 p.m., Thurs., May 29, no cover. 
Damon Fowler Group, 8:30-11:30 p.m., Fri., May 30, $10.
The Venturas, 8:30-11:30 p.m., Sat., May 31, $5.

More about The Blue Rooster
Southern comfort food and feel-good music — this is what The Blue Rooster in downtown Sarasota promises. Launched by Bill Cornelius and Devin Rutkowski in early 2013, The Blue Rooster offers the best live entertainment Sarasota has to offer seven nights a week, alongside New American Southern fare by executive chef Michael Yoder.
 
The venue was built out to accommodate musicians from around the nation with a top of the line sound system while Chef Yoder takes simple, locally-sourced base ingredients and transforms them into true blue southern comfort cuisine with a down home TBR twist. Try the famous fried chicken and waffles, low country shrimp and grits, fried green tomatoes and much more and don’t miss their new Sunday Gospel Brunch featuring a buffet of Southern favorites alongside traditional and contemporary spirituals.
 
The Blue Rooster, 1525 Fourth St., Sarasota, 5-10 p.m., Sun., 5-10:30 p.m., Tues., 5-11 p.m., Wed., 5 p.m.-midnight, Thurs., 5 p.m.-1 a.m. Fri. and Sat., 11 a.m.-1 p.m. Sunday brunch, closed Mondays. 941-388-7539 or blueroostersrq.com

#####

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

About the author

Free Newsletter Updated Daily